Search Shop

Tigers Attend Women’s Basketball Media Day on Monday

Oct. 26, 2009

GREENSBORO, N.C. – The Atlantic Coast Conference held its annual Women’s Basketball Media Day on Monday, October 26 at the Greensboro Coliseum in Greensboro, NC, site of the 2010 ACC Tournament. Clemson Head Coach Cristy McKinney and senior guard/forward Lele Hardy attended as the Lady Tigers’ representatives. McKinney spoke about the strengths of the team, including the return of All-ACC performer Lele Hardy.

For the second consecutive year, the North Carolina women’s basketball team was selected to finish in first place for the 2009-10 season by a vote of the Blue Ribbon Panel, announced today.  The panel, a contingent of national and local media, as well as school representatives, picked the Tar Heels with 30 of 45 first-place votes.   Following North Carolina was Duke with 10 first-place votes, 2008-09 co-regular season champion Florida State, and Virginia.  Co-regular season champion and ACC Tournament champion Maryland received three first-place votes and was tabbed fifth.  Boston College, Georgia Tech, Miami, NC State, Wake Forest, Clemson, and Virginia Tech rounded out the selection order.


2009-10 Predicted Order of Finish

1. North Carolina (30)

2. Duke (10)

3. Florida State (2)

4. Virginia

5. Maryland (3)

6. Boston College

7. Georgia Tech

8. Miami

9. NC State

10. Wake Forest

11. Clemson

12. Virginia Tech


2009-10 Preseason All-ACC Team

Jessica Breland, Sr., F, North Carolina

Jacinta Monroe, Sr., F/C, Florida State

Carolyn Swords, Jr., C, Boston College

Jasmine Thomas, Jr., G, Duke

Monica Wright, Sr., G, Virginia


Preseason Player of the Year: Monica Wright, Sr., G, Virginia

Preseason Rookie of the Year: Tierra Ruffin-Pratt, Fr., G, North Carolina