Search Shop

Swimming & Diving Holds Orange & White Meet

Sept. 24, 2011

GREENVILLE, S.C.–The Clemson men’s and women’s swimming teams had their annual intrasquad scrimmage on Friday night at the Westside Aquatic Center in Greenville.

For the women’s team, Kelly McGee led the way with three victories, all in different disciplines. Meg Anderson and Kristen Redmond each added a pair of wins apiece. The men were paced by Chris Dart’s three victories, and Eric Bruck had two wins for the guys’ squad.

“You saw, on both sides, our team is going to be small,” Head Coach Christopher Ip said. “But we’re definitely strong on certain events. We’re just going to have some other ones sacrifice, step up there, and do the job in other events.”

The meet began with Ali Polhill, Garrison Stevens, Kelsey Krauss, and Tori Cervone winning the 200 medley relay. Redmond followed that up with her first win of the night in the 500 free. Rocky Raybon and Kerry McLaughlin finished just behind her in the heat. Krauss then won the 150 free, followed by Kelly Fowler and Sarah Bechard. Anderson’s first win of the evening came in the 50 free. Polhill and Erickson finished second and third, respectively.

McGee’s first victory came in the 100 IM, where she was followed by Cervone and Deanna Piper. McGee was also victorious in the 150 fly. Bechard and Redmond rounded out the top three in the event.

Kelly McGee was outstanding,” Ip said. “She made a commitment from the summer on, and she’s definitely well ahead of schedule.”

Anderson paced the Tigers in the 100 free, followed by Krauss and Stevens. Cervone was the winner in the 150 back, with Fowler and McLaughlin rounding out the top three for Clemson. Redmond won the 200 free, with Raybon and Anderson finishing just behind her.

McGee finished up her day with a win in the 150 breast. Stevens and Piper were second and third, respectively, Krauss, Polhill, Liz Whalen, and Cervone teamed up to end the meet on the women’s side with a win in the 200 free relay.

For the men’s team, Walker Layne, Chris Dart, Harry Foster, and Myles Oliver brought home the title in the 200 medley relay. Dart then proceeded to win the 500 free, followed by Alex Carr and Will Clark. Eric Bruck, Chris Reinke, and Lee Groseclose finished 1-2-3 in a close battle in the 150 free. Seth Broster won the 50 free, followed by Derek Barre and Oliver.

Layne won his first individual event of the night when he bested Andrew Abeysinghe and Shayne Buckley in the 100 IM. Foster was victorious in the150 fly, with Buckley and Broster finishing second and third, respectively. Bruck won his second event in the 100 free, with Barre and Marcus Elliott following him.

Dart won the 150 back, followed by Abeysinghe and Layne. Carr picked up a win in the 200 free, with Oliver and Groseclose rounding out the top three. Dart’s third victory came in the 150 breast, and he was followed by Reinke and Buckley. Oliver, Barre, Reinke, and Foster completed the meet with a win in the 200 free relay.

The Tigers will begin the 2011-12 regular season by traveling to Davidson on Saturday, October 1.