Search Shop
Solomon Named To All-District Team

Solomon Named To All-District Team

March 2, 2001

Overland Park, KS – Clemson junior guard Will Solomon was named second-team All-District 5 by the National Association of Basketball Coaches. It is the second straight year Solomon has been named to an NABC All-District 5 team.

Solomon leads the Clemson team in scoring with a 20.1 average, third highest in the Atlantic Coast Conference. He is also leading the Tiger team in three-point goals with 83 and steals with 40. Solomon has 91 assists to go with his 544 points and is shooting 79 percent from the foul line, an 11 percent increase over last year. He ranks in the top 12 in the ACC in scoring, three-point goals per game, assists, three-point goal percentage and free throw percentage.

Solomon has averaged nearly 20 points a game in 12 games against top 25 teams this year, including a 26-point outing in Clemson’s upset of #1 ranked North Carolina on Feb. 18th. His season high is 41 against Georgia Tech on January 24th.

The native of East Hartford, CT is now 10th in Clemson history in career scoring with 1384 points. He is eighth on the all-time scoring average list (15.2) and is second in career three-point goals with 202. He set a school record this year when he had a streak of 52 consecutive double figure scoring games.

District 5 takes into account Division I programs from South Carolina, North Carolina, Maryland, and Georgia. It includes all the ACC schools with the exception of Florida State and Virginia.

Four of the five players on the first team were from Duke and North Carolina. Jason Williams and Shane Battier were named from Duke while Brendan Haywood and Joseph Forte were selected from North Carolina. Juan Dixon of Maryland joined those four players on the first team.

Solomon was joined on the second team by Terrance Morris of Maryland, Darius Songalia of Wake Forest, Alvin Jones of Georgia Tech and Jody Lumpkin of College of Charleston. Lumpkin was the only non-ACC player on the two teams.

NABC All-District 5 Team


Jason Williams – Duke Shane Battier – Duke Joseph Forte – North Carolina Juan Dixon – Maryland Brendan Haywood – North Carolina


Will SolomonClemson Terrance Morris – Maryland Darius Songaila – Wake Forest Alvin Jones – Georgia Tech Jody Lumpkin – College of Charleston