Search Shop

Pair of Weaver-James-Corrigan Scholars to Meet on the Hardcourt

February 17, 1999

CLEMSON, S.C. – Saturday’s game between Duke and Clemson will be the first meeting on the hardcourt of two Atlantic Coast Conference Weaver-James-Corrigan Postgraduate Scholarship Recipients. Earlier this week, Clemson’s Tom Wideman and Duke’s Trajan Langdon were two of the 16 ACC scholar athletes to win the awards.

This is the first time two men’s basketball players have been honored in the same year, so obviously, this will be the first ACC game in which two recipients have played in the same contest. Wideman was one of three Clemson student-athletes to win the postgraduate scholarship, as announced by ACC Commissioner John Swofford. Clemson men’s swimmer Will York and women’s swimmer Jennifer Mihalik were also honored. Clemson, Maryland and NC State all led the conference with three selections apiece.

Wideman was to make his 100th career start on the hardcourt for the Tigers against Virginia on Wednesday evening. He is currently Clemson’s third leading scorer (7.1) and #2 rebounder (6.7. He is also second on the team in field goal percentage (.543) and steals (29). He is 12th in Clemson history in career rebounding (641) and is currently 8th in the ACC in rebounds per game for this season.

Wideman has been performing at a consistent level in the classroom. The senior, who needs to pass just two courses this semester to earn his degree in management, has been on the Dean’s List six of his seven semesters at Clemson, including three semesters with a perfect 4.0. He has a career GPA of 3.67. Off the court he is also active in Clemson’s community service activities and is one of nine members of the ACC’s Student-Athlete Advisory Committee.

Wideman is the third Clemson basketball player in history to win this award, the first since 1980. Jim Sutherland was the recipient in 1967, while Bobby Conrad was the recipient in 1980. Both of those years, the ACC gave only one award for the entire league. Wideman and Langdon are just the sixth and seventh ACC men’s basketball players in history to win the award. Three of the seven are now from Clemson. Other men’s basketball recipients are Jim Sutherland (Clemson, 1967), Bobby Conrad (Clemson, 1980), Marc Blucas (Wake Forest, 1994), Rusty LaRue (Wake Forest, 1996), and Matt Harpring (Georgia Tech, 1998)

Wideman and the other 15 student-athletes will be honored on April 7 in Greensboro at a luncheon hosted by Nat Greene Kiwanis.