Search Shop
Men’s Tennis 2000 Notes

Men’s Tennis 2000 Notes

Feb. 23, 2000

CLEMSON HEAD COACH CHUCK KRIESE IS ONE OF THE NATION’S WINNINGEST COACHES – Clemson Head Coach Chuck Kriese is one of the winningest active coaches as far as the number of wins in a career. Currently, Kriese has a 503-290 record in his career and is ranked ninth for most wins for active Division I coaches, 15th all-time among active and retired coaches.


Rk Name School Yrs. Record Pct.
1. Jim Schwitters Hawaii 34 1261-555-15 .689
2. Dan Magill* Georgia 34 706-183 .794
3. Dave Snyder Texas 41 680-221-2 .753
4. Dick Gould Stanford 33 660-127 .839
5. Paul Scarpa Furman 36 659-405 .619
6. Pete Mazula* Northern Iowa 28 640-204 .758
7. Glenn Bassett* Pepperdine 28 614-99-2 .856
8. Rich Gugat Air Force 25 592-151 .797
9. Lin Loring Indiana 26 575-160 .782
10. Benny Purcell* Murray State 28 569-258 .688
11. Ron Smarr Rice 26 547-217 .716
12. David Kent* Texas A&M 27 516-223 .698
13. Bob Bayliss Notre Dame 30 513-197 .723
14. Brian Eisner* Michigan 35 509-226-1 .692
15. Chuck Kriese Clemson 24 503-290 .634

Source–Intercollegiate Tennis Association, SID Office, Emory Univ. *Retired

CHUCK KRIESE IS THE ACC’S ALL-TIME WINNINGEST COACH – Clemson Head Coach Chuck Kriese became the Atlantic Coast Conference’s all-time winningest coach during the 1995 season with a 7-0 victory over Virginia Tech on February 4. He currently has a 503-290 record at Clemson.


Coach Years Record
1. Chuck Kriese, CU 1976- 503-290
2. Don Skakle, UNC 1959-80 418-55
3. Doyle Royal, MD 1954-80 296-114-1

CLEMSON’S RECORD – Clemson finished the 1999 season with a 21-12 record overall and a 6-2 mark in the ACC. The Tigers finished tied for second in the ACC regular season standings.

CHUCK KRIESE ENTERS HIS 25th SEASON – Chuck Kriese is entering his 25th season as head coach of the Clemson Tigers. This is the second longest tenure by a head tennis coach in the history of the Atlantic Coast Conference. Doyle Royal was at Maryland for 27 years in 1954-80. It is also one of the top five longest tenures in Clemson history regardless of sport. Only former baseball coach, Bill Wilhelm (36 years), former football coach, Frank Howard (30 years), and former soccer coach, Dr. I.M. Ibrahim (28 years) are longer.

CLEMSON’S ACC FLIGHT CHAMPIONS – Two current Tigers have won ACC Championships in their respective careers. Josh Goffi was the ACC Champion at number-three singles, and Tomasz Boniecki was the ACC Champion at number-four singles. Both of these players won their league titles in 1999.

1999 FINAL RANKINGS – Clemson finished the 1999 season ranked 30th as a team. Pablo Bellagamba and Josh Goffi finished the season ranked 28th as a doubles team.

TIGER STREAKS – Clemson has won 144 of its last 182 ACC matches, (including ACC Tournament matches). The Tigers are also tough at home vs. ACC competition as the Tigers have won 68 of their last 80 ACC home matches spanning an 19-year period. Clemson won 47 straight ACC matches at home from March 10, 1978 with an 8-1 win over Wake Forest until the Tigers lost to North Carolina, 6-3 on March 30, 1991.

1999 Clemson 30 Wins Club-Singles

Name Singles Record
Josh Goffi 31-19

1999 Clemson 20 Wins Club-Singles

Name Singles Record
Tomasz Boniecki 29-12
Luis Garcia 28-17
Pablo Bellagamba 23-16
Brad Emendorfer 23-20
Ryan Bauer 21-24

1999 Clemson 20 Wins Club-Doubles

Name Doubles Record
Josh Goffi 27-13
Ryan Bauer 26-14
Marko Gojanovic 24-15
Luis Garcia 24-23
Pablo Bellagamba 22-13

CLEMSON IN NCAA MEN’S TENNIS TOURNAMENT – Clemson is one of the top teams nationally as far as appearances in the NCAA team tournament. The Tigers went to 11 straight NCAA team tournaments between the years of 1979 and 1989, the second longest streak of NCAA tournament appearances in Clemson team sports history. In the 18 total appearances, Clemson has a 10-18 overall record. Clemson has reached the Final Sixteen 11 times, and the Final Eight six times, but has never advanced to the Final Four.

Final Eight Years: 1980, 1981, 1982, 1983, 1985, 1986Final 16 Years: 1979, 1984, 1987, 1988, 1989

Clemson’s NCAA Tournament Years – 1979, 1980, 1981, 1982, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1986, 1987, 1988, 1989, 1992, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998. 1999 (18 of the past 21 seasons.)

CLEMSON AND THE ACC IN THE NCAA TOURNAMENTS – Clemson has been to more NCAA team tournaments than any other ACC school.

Number of Trips To the NCAA Tourney

Clemson 18
North Carolina 9
Duke 9
Georgia Tech 5
Florida State 5
Virginia 3
N.C. State 2
Wake Forest 1

Note: Dual-Match Format Years Only

CLEMSON WON SEVEN STRAIGHT ACC TITLES – Clemson won seven straight ACC men’s tennis titles during the 1983-1989 era. Clemson Head Coach Chuck Kriese has led the Tigers to 10 ACC championships and three runnerup finishes since his arrival at Clemson in 1976. Clemson won every ACC Title in the 1980s except 1982 or nine of the 10 contested in that decade. In the history of the ACC tournament, Clemson has won 11 ACC championships. The 1969 championship is the only Tiger title recorded without Chuck Kriese at the helm.

ACC TOURNAMENT CHAMPIONS – 1969, 1980, 1981, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1986, 1987, 1988, 1989, 1997

ACC REGULAR SEASON CHAMPIONS – 1969, 1971, 1979. 1980, 1981, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1986, 1987, 1989, 1990

NATIONAL COACH-OF-THE-YEAR – Clemson Head Men’s Tennis Coach Chuck Kriese has been National Coach-of-the-Year in two seasons. In 1981 and 1986, he was named the USPTA’s National Coach-of-the-Year. In 1981 he was named Coach-of-the-Year by the ITA, and that was the first time a Clemson coach had won national coach of the year honors in any sport. Kriese has been named Coach-of-the-Year in the South five times and in the ACC five times, (1980, 1986, 1988, 1989, 1997).

NATIONAL AWARD WINNERS AT CLEMSON – ITCA National Senior Player-of-the-Year 1980-Mike Gandolfo, 1982- Mark Dickson 1983-Jean Desdunes, 1997-Mitch Sprengelmeyer

Rafael Osuna Award 1984- Rick Rudeen

National Rookie-of-the-Year 1984-Lawson Duncan

Van Nostrand Memorial Award 1986 -Richard Matuszewski, 1997-Mitch Sprengelmeyer

TIGERS IN THE POLLS – Clemson was ranked in 95 consecutive ITA top 25 polls dating from February 27, 1979, to March 6, 1990. From the April 22, 1980 poll to the March 19, 1985 listing, the Tigers were ranked in the top 10 in 42 straight polls. The highest Clemson has ever been ranked is second on two occasions. The Tigers were ranked second on February 18, 1986, and March 3, 1987. The highest Clemson has been ranked in a final poll is fifth for the 1986 season. Clemson has been ranked in the top-10 in 68 different polls.

CLEMSON’S RECORD VS. THE TOP 10 – Clemson has an overall record of 41-99 against top-10 teams over the years. Incredibly, 34 of Clemson’s 41 top 10 wins have taken place away from home, including both of Clemson’s wins over number-one ranked teams.

WINS OVER NUMBER ONES – Clemson has upset the nation’s number-one team twice in its history, both under the coaching of Chuck Kriese. The Tigers, ranked sixth at the time, defeated a number-one ranked UCLA team 5-4 in Los Angeles on February 6, 1982. On March 22, 1986, Clemson ranked third at the time, defeated number-one Pepperdine on its own courts, 8-1. It was one of 16 wins over top 20 teams by Clemson’s 1986 team.

POSSIBLE NATIONAL RECORDS – Clemson’s Lawson Duncan compiled a single-season record of 70-14 in 1984. The Tigers’ Rick Rudeen had a singles career record of 172-73. Pender Murphy also won 31 straight matches in 1980. Duncan, Rudeen, and Murphy’s win totals are conference and probably NCAA all-time records.