Search Shop
Men’s Cross Country Wins Clemson Invitational

Men’s Cross Country Wins Clemson Invitational

Oct. 5, 2002

Complete Results in PDF FormatDownload Free Acrobat Reader

CLEMSON, SC – The Clemson men’s cross country team won the 2002 Clemson Invitational, and also claimed the South Carolina State Collegiate championship held Saturday morning on Clemson’s campus. This is the second consecutive state crown for the Tigers. Clemson won the meet with 40 points, followed by Charlotte with 46 points. Western Carolina placed third with 52 points, and Coastal Carolina posted 94 points for a fourth-place finish. Georgia was fifth with 122 and College of Charleston was sixth with 188 points. Wofford College finished seventh with 215 points, and South Carolina State placed eighth with 236 points. Charlotte’s Vince Sherry was the individual champion with a time of 24:58.

All of Clemson’s runners finished in the top 30. The Tigers were led by junior Scott Shaw, who finished second overall and covered the 8K course in 25:06. Senior Jason Meany placed fourth with a time of 25:28. Derrick Wyatt was ninth in 25:46, and Ryan Fenton placed 11th with a time of 25:54. David Adams finished 14th (26:11), while Matt Pimentel placed 16th with a time of 26:31 and Clay Pendelton finished 29th in 27:22.

In the South Carolina State Championship meet, Shaw claimed the individual title for the second year in a row. The Tigers swept third through six places as Meany was third, followed by Wyatt, Fenton and Adams. Pimentel placed eighth, and Pendleton was 11th. All of Clemson’s top five runners earned All-State honors.

The Clemson men’s cross country team returns to action on Sat., Oct. 19 as the Tigers travel to Auburn, AL, to compete in the Auburn Invitational.

Top 10 Overall Finishers 1. Vince Sherry – 24:58 (Charlotte) 2. Scott Shaw – 25:06 (Clemson) 3. Tevah Kipchiris – 25:18 (Coastal Carolina) 4. Jason Meany – 25:28 (Clemson) 5. Ed Schiuchter – 25:39 (Charlotte) 6. Ben Watkins – 25:44 (Western Carolina) 7. Caleb Bailey – 25:45 (Western Carolina) 8. Jesse Norman – 25:46 (Western Carolina) 9. Derrick Wyatt – 25:46 (Clemson) 10. Josh Baker – 25:47 (Charlotte)

Clemson ResultsScott Shaw (2) – 25:06Jason Meany (4) – 25:28Derrick Wyatt (9) – 25:46 Ryan Fenton (11) – 25:54 David Adams (14) – 26:11 Matt Pimentel (16) – 26:31 Clay Pendleton (29) – 27:22