Search Shop
Nov 19, 2018

Lamar Selected As Butkus Award Finalist

CLEMSON, S.C. — The Football Writers Association of America announced today that linebacker has been named a finalist for the 2018 Butkus, presented annually to the nation’s top linebacker. Lamar joins Kentucky’s Josh Allen, Michigan’s Devin Bush, Alabama’s Dylan Moses and LSU’s Devin White as one of five finalists for the honor.

Lamar is only the fourth player in school history to be named a Butkus finalist, joining Dorian O’Daniel (2017), Keith Adams (2000) and Levon Kirkland (1990). Lamar and O’Daniel became the first Clemson duo to be named finalists in back-to-back years. If Lamar were to win the award, he would become the first player in school history to earn the honor.

Lamar as been credited by Clemson’s coaching staff with 65 total tackles this season, second-most on the team. He has contributed seven quarterback pressures, 3.5 tackles for loss, 2.0 sacks and an interception, which he returned 43 yards to set up a Clemson score. Lamar has been a central figure on a unit that ranks first in the country in scoring defense (12.1 points per game), second in total defense (254.4) and third in rushing defense (84.3 yards per game).

The Butkus Award is presented by the Butkus Foundation, a non-profit 501c3 organization which advances health and wellness through special initiatives. Selection is handled by a panel of 51 coaches, recruiters, scouts and journalists who vote separately and confidentially using a 3-2-1 process, with write-ins allowed. Selectors and selection criteria are posted at