Khalil Greene Wins Golden Spike Award

Khalil Greene Wins Golden Spike Award

July 9, 2002

Tucson, Arizona – As seen earlier today on the 2002 Golden Spikes Award television special, USA Baseball has announced that Khalil Greene – an infielder from Clemson University – topped an incredibly talented field of five finalists to capture the 2002 Golden Spikes Award. The 25th presentation of the award, which is sponsored annually by the Major League Baseball Players Association, will be held at a later date and time to be determined, on the campus of Clemson University.

Greene – a native of Key West, Florida – set numerous Tiger and ACC records in his senior season at Clemson. He lead the Tigers to a third-place finish in the College World Series by hitting .470 with a school-record 27 homers and 91 RBIs. The Tigers’ everyday shortstop became just the second NCAA player to collect 400 hits, as he finished with 403, and broke the NCAA career doubles’ record with his 95th against South Carolina on June 21. He also started 269 consecutive games at Clemson, and had a 34-game hitting streak down the stretch.

“I wanted to go out and play every game as hard as I could this season, with it being my last year in college,” said Greene. “To be able to look back on the year and know that I was named the best amateur player as the Golden Spikes Award winner, it’s just a very special honor.”

Greene, who has won every 2002 National Player-of-the-Year award to date, was the 13th overall pick in this past June’s Major League Baseball Draft by the San Diego Padres.

“USA Baseball is extremely proud to honor Khalil Greene of Clemson with the 2002 Golden Spikes Award,” said Paul Seiler, USA Baseball Executive Director / CEO. “Khalil’s incredible season in which he helped lead the Tigers back to the College World Series certainly speaks for itself. Khalil proved that he was the premier college player in the nation this season, and we’re excited for the Clemson baseball program and their head coach, Jack Leggett.”

For the past 24 years, USA Baseball has honored the top amateur baseball player in the country with the Golden Spikes Award. (See winners box below.) The award is presented each year to the player who exhibits exceptional athletic ability and exemplary sportsmanship. Past winners of this prestigious award include current Major League Baseball stars Robin Ventura, Jason Varitek, Mark Kotsay and Phil Nevin, as well as 2001 winner Mark Prior of the Chicago Cubs.

In addition, USA Baseball announced today their 25th Anniversary Golden Spikes Award Team.

Pitchers: Jim Abbott, Ben McDonald, Mark Prior

Infielders: Pat Burrell, Will Clark, Bob Horner, Phil Nevin, Robin Ventura

Outfielders: J.D. Drew, Terry Francona, Mark Kotsay

The Golden Spikes Award is sponsored by the Major League Baseball Players Association (MLBPA), underscoring the commitment of Major League Baseball players to the grassroots development of baseball programs, particularly for youth, around the world. The MLBPA supports USA Baseball’s ongoing efforts to provide instruction for youth baseball players, coaches, and volunteers, and to prepare amateur athletes for professional competition.

USA Baseball is the National Governing Body of amateur baseball in the United States and a member of the United States Olympic Committee. The organization selects and trains the USA Baseball Olympic Team, the USA Baseball National Team, the USA Baseball Junior National team (18-under), and the USA Baseball Youth National Team (16-under) which participate in various international competitions each year.

* Players Named to 25th Anniversary Golden Spikes Award Team

Golden Spikes Award Winners

2002 Khalil Greene – Clemson 2001 *Mark Prior – Southern California 2000 Kip Bouknight – South Carolina 1999 Jason Jennings – Baylor 1998 *Pat Burrell – Miami 1997 *J.D. Drew – Florida State 1996 Travis Lee – San Diego State 1995 *Mark Kotsay – Cal State Fullerton 1994 Jason Varitek – Georgia Tech 1993 Darren Dreifort – Wichita State 1992 *Phil Nevin – Cal State Fullerton 1991 Mike Kelly – Arizona State 1990 Alex Fernandez – Miami-Dade South 1989 *Ben McDonald – Louisiana State 1988 *Robin Ventura – Oklahoma State 1987 *Jim Abbott – Michigan 1986 Mike Loynd – Florida State 1985 *Will Clark – Mississippi State 1984 Oddibe McDowell – Arizona State 1983 Dave Magadan – Alabama 1982 Augie Schmidt – New Orleans 1981 Mike Fuentes – Florida State 1980 *Terry Francona – Arizona 1979 Tim Wallace – Cal State Fullerton 1978 *Bob Horner – Arizona State

2002 Golden Spikes Award Finalists Russ Adams – North Carolina Jeff Baker – Clemson Bobby Brownlie – Rutgers Khalil Greene – Clemson Jeremy Guthrie – Stanford