Search Shop

Institute for International Sport Names All-American Sportsmanship Schools

Oct. 10, 2007

The Institute for International Sport, administrators of National Sportsmanship Day, have named 12 schools as 2007-08 “All-American Sportsmanship Schools” and one conference as 2007-08 “All-American Sportsmanship Conference.”

The selection process involves the Institute receiving nominations as part of its administration of National Sportsmanship Day, which is celebrated annually on the first Tuesday of March. Following each National Sportsmanship Day, an Institute selection committee screens the nominees and makes selections based on the clear and strong commitment to a culture of sportsmanship in each of the honored schools. “We look for schools whose administration fosters a strong atmosphere of sportsmanship among its coaching staff and student-athletes,” said Chris Shea, Coordinator of the 2008 National Sportsmanship Day program.

The 2007-08 honored All-American Sportsmanship Schools will all play an active role in the 2008 National Sportsmanship Day, to be celebrated on March 4, 2008. Activities will include participation in the Institute’s “Team Sportsmanship” which involves high school and college student-athletes and coaches visiting local elementary and middle schools on National Sportsmanship Day to lead discussions about the importance of sportsmanship.

“The 2007-08 honorees are made up of a group of schools- ranging from elementary school to university- that have all clearly demonstrated a well thought out sportsmanship program in their respective schools which has resulted in an admirable commitment to and practice of sportsmanship,” stated Shea.

The 2007-08 All-American Sportsmanship Schools are:

Junior Colleges · Joliet Junior College – Joliet, IL · Miami Dade College – Miami, FL

Four-year Colleges/Universities · Indiana University – Bloomington, IN · Bucknell University – Lewisburg, PA· Clemson University – Clemson, SC · Auburn University – Auburn, AL

Intercollegiate Conference · Empire 8 Athletic Conference – Made up of: Alfred University, Elmira College, Hartwick College, Ithaca College, Nazareth College, Rochester Institute of Technology, St. John Fisher College, Stevens Institute of Technology, Utica College

High Schools · Valley View High School – Germantown, OH · Rocky Hill School – East Greenwich, RI · Sussex Tech High School – Georgetown, DE

Elementary/Middle Schools · Ortiz Middle School – Houston, TX · Annunciation Catholic School – Havelock, NC

K-12 School · Coeus International School – Washington, DC