Search Shop
Hester, Sprint Medley Pace Day Two at Penn

Hester, Sprint Medley Pace Day Two at Penn

CLEMSON, S.C. — Tevin Hester posted a season-best to take first and qualify for the 100 dash final on the second day of the Penn Relays. He was one of three to qualify for the championship in an individual event at Philadelphia’s Franklin Field. In addition, the Tiger women took second place in a close competition in the sprint medley relay behind Oregon.

Hester’s time of 10.24 will carry him into the championship round of the 100 dash on Saturday at 3:45 p.m. Both Justin Johnson (13.76) and Samantha Elliott (13.43) also qualified to compete in the hurdles championships. Elliott will run in the women’s 100 hurdles at 3:15 while Johnson will compete in the men’s 110 hurdles at 3:20 p.m.

Hester was also part of Clemson’s 4×1 that qualified for Saturday’s 1:40 p.m. final. The team ran a time of 40.76. The men’s 4×4 also qualified for the 6:00 championship final after posting a time of 3:11.94.

Sabria Hadley, Deja Parrish, Malayshia George and Natoya Goule competed in the sprint medley championship and took second with a season-best 3:44.71. The group’s time ranks second in the Clemson record books.

The women’s 4×1500 relay established a school record by running a time of 18:20.73. The team of Grace Barnett, Brianna Feerst, Katie Moses and Molly Sullivan finished eighth in the championship section.

The women’s 4×1 of Whitney Fountain, Parrish, Hadley and Myasia Jacobs ran the college-division final, winning with a time of 45.49. The men’s DMR team competed in the college-division section and finished third with a time of 9:58.13.

Out on the field, Iana Amsterdam posted a season-best 41-5.25 in the triple jump, finishing in fourth position. She led three Tigers in the top nine, including Mimi Land, who also high jumped 5-8.5 to tie for eighth in that event.

The Tiger teams return to action Saturday to finish out the meet. Live results are available at NBC Sports Network will show live coverage of the action from 12:30 to 3 p.m.