Field Set For Hooters Collegiate Match Play Championship

July 24, 2002

NORMAN, Okla. – The 16 team field for the Hooters Collegiate Match Play Championship at Barefoot Resort was announced today by the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA). The inaugural tournament will be held November 8-10, 2002 on the Dye Course at Barefoot Resort, Myrtle Beach, S.C.

Invitations were extended to and accepted by the top 16 finishing teams at the 2002 NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championships. A complete list of the field includes: Arizona, Augusta State, Clemson, Colorado, Florida, Georgia Tech, Minnesota, NC State, Oklahoma State, Pepperdine, Purdue, TCU, Texas, Toledo, Tulsa and Washington.

“We’re proud to be a part of creating such a prestigious event with an elite field,” said Mike McNeil, vice president of marketing for Hooters of America, Inc. “Golf has proven to be a valuable market for Hooters, and I believe that this is an event that our customers will enjoy.”

Aside from featuring the top 16 teams at the 2002 national tournament, the Hooters Collegiate Match Play Championship will showcase programs that have combined to win 19 national championships, including the last three (Oklahoma State, 2000; Florida, 2001; Minnesota, 2002).

“The GCAA is thrilled to have such an outstanding field for our first championship. The fact that every school accepted the invitation indicates the support that match play format has with our coaches,” said GCAA Executive Director Gregg Grost. “It is our hope to create a ‘bowl game’ type atmosphere with competing schools bringing their top boosters to support the team and enjoying all that the Myrtle Beach area has to offer.”

Players expected to return to the collegiate links next season and compete in the national match play tournament include Ben Hogan Award and Jack Nicklaus Award winner D.J. Trahan of Clemson, NCAA Medalist Troy Matteson of Georgia Tech, Big 12 Player of the Year Hunter Mahan of Oklahoma State, SEC Player of the Year Camilo Villegas of Florida, MAC Golfer of the Year Brad Heaven of Toledo, Independent Golfer of the Year Oliver Wilson of Augusta State and a total of 20 PING All-Americans.

The format for the championship will be a modified double-elimination team match play tournament. Each school guaranteed a minimum of two matches over a period of three days on the Dye Course in Myrtle Beach. Myrtle Beach, often referred to as the “Grand Strand”, is home to over 100 golf courses including Barefoot Resort.

The 2002 tournament has been granted exempted contest status by the NCAA. As a result, participating institutions will not be required to count the dates of competition in their 24 dates of regular-season competition.