Search Shop

Coastal Carolina Defeats Clemson, 2-1, In OT

Sept. 28, 2003

Box Score

CLEMSON, S.C. – Joseph Ngwenya scored both goals in leading Coastal Carolina to a 2-1 overtime win over Clemson and claiming the championship at the Clemson Men’s Soccer Invitational at Clemson, SC Sunday afternoon. Ngwenya was named the tournament’s MVP.

Coastal Carolina scored first at the 43:09 mark. Steve Trumbo fed Joseph Ngwenya a pass just inside the penalty box. Ngwenya drove in the box and his diagonal shot from eight yards out went into the lower left corner of the goal.

Clemson evened the score early in the second half, (48:47). Paul Souders sent a pass from the middle of the field to James Georgeff. Georgeff ran underneath the pass and sent a 16-yard shot into the net. It was Georgeff’s first career goal.

Ngwenya scored the game-winner at the 96:46 mark in the first overtime period. Boyzzz Khumalo drove to the left and crossed the ball to Ngwenya who sent a first time right-footed shot from 18 yards into the back of the net. It was Ngwenya’s eighth goal of the season.

“It was a tough loss,” said Clemson Head Coach Trevor Adair. “To take a positive out of this, we found 13-14 guys who want to step up and play. We must get ready for South Carolina. We had the effort today and we stuck with the game plan. We fought hard and did a great job tachtically. James Georgeff did a great job, as well as our goalkeeper Hunter Gilstrap. Coastal Carolina is a good team and I give them the credit.”

Coastal Carolina---Joseph Ngwenya (Steve Trumbo) 43:09Clemson-James Georgeff  (Paul Souders) 48:47

Shots: Clemson 10, Coastal Carolina 14 Corner Kicks: Clemson 4, Coastal Carolina 5 Saves: Hunter Gilstrap (CU) 4, Mark Lenahan (CC) 4 Fouls: Clemson 18, Coastal Carolina 10 Attendance: 1,122

Results Friday, September 26, Coastal Carolina 2, Furman 0 Clemson 3, Air Force 3 (OT)

Sunday, September 28 Furman 4, Air Force 3 Coastal Carolina 2, Clemson 1 (OT)

Joseph Ngwenya, Coastal Carolina, Tournament MVP Mark Lenahan, Coastal Carolina Chris Moore, Coastal Carolina Boyzzz Khumalo, Coastal Carolina McNeil Cronin, Furman Scott Hoch, Furman Clint Dempsey, Furman Daniel Wasson, Air Force Marcus Sagastume, Air Force Paul Souders, Clemson Nick Rivera, Clemson