Clemson Will Host Regional For Second Straight Year

Clemson Will Host Regional For Second Straight Year

May 14, 2001

Listen to Coach Leggett’s Thoughts on Regional and ACC Tournament

CLEMSON – Clemson has been selected to serve as host to one of 16 regional sites for the 2001 NCAA Baseball Championship on May 25-27 the NCAA announced Monday afternoon via teleconference.

The Tigers, 37-18 overall and 17-7 in the ACC, will host for the second consecutive year after hosting both the regional and Super Regional rounds last year. Clemson hosted Middle Tennessee, Illinois and Old Dominion in a four-team regional and advanced after defeating Illinois once and Middle Tennessee State twice. The Tigers hosted Mississippi State the following weekend in the Super Regional and earned a trip to the College World Series by defeating the Bulldogs 11-4 and 9-4 in the best-of-three series.

Clemson, the second seed in this week’s ACC Tournament in Fort Mill, has also played host to the NCAA Tournament in 1980, 1981, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1998 and 2000 and has advanced to the College World Series four of those seven times. Monday’s selection as a host assures that Clemson will make its 15th straight NCAA tournament appearance and its 27th appearance overall. However, seeding for the tournament will not be determined until May 21, when the entire field is announced live at 3:00 PM on ESPN. The Tigers are 19-6 in NCAA Tournament games played at Clemson.

This is the third year of the 64-team format for the NCAA tournament and the winner will advance to the Super Regional at a site to be determined following the first-round games. The Tigers are 70-55 all-time in NCAA Tournament games and have made nine appearances in the College World Series.

Reserved tickets for this year’s tournament are available at the Clemson Athletic Ticket Office or by calling 1-800-CLEMSON. An all-session pass costs $50 and is good for all six or seven games that will be played at Doug Kingsmore Stadium. The games will be played on Friday at 2:00 PM and 7:00 PM, on Saturday at 11:00 AM, 3:00 PM and 7:00 PM, and on Sunday at 2:00 PM and 7:00 PM (if necessary).

Other regional sites announced Monday were: Fullerton, CA, hosted by Cal State-Fullerton, Wilson, NC, hosted by East Carolina, Tallahassee, FL hosted by Florida State, Athens, GA, hosted by Georgia, Baton Rouge, LA, hosted by Louisiana State, Coral Gables, FL, hosted by Miami, Lincoln, NE, hosted by Nebraska, South Bend, IN, hosted by Notre Dame, Columbus, OH, hosted by Ohio State, Houston, TX, hosted by Rice, Columbia, SC, hosted by South Carolina, Los Angeles, CA hosted by Southern California, Palo Alto, CA, hosted by Stanford, Knoxville, TN, hosted by Tennessee, and, New Orleans, LA, hosted by Tulane.