Clemson to Host Super Regional Beginning Friday

Clemson to Host Super Regional Beginning Friday

June 5, 2006

INDIANAPOLIS, IN–The eight super-regional hosts were announced today by the NCAA Division I Baseball Committee. A minimum of 45 hours of super-regional television will be provided by family of ESPN channels, ESPN, ESPN2 and ESPNU. Consult local listings for specific games shown in each area of the country. As many as 15 national broadcast windows could appear on the three ESPN networks from June 9-12.

The following four super regionals will be played Friday, June 9, Saturday, June 10, and Sunday, June 11 (if necessary). Updated records through the regionals are in parenthesis. Six of the eight national seeds advanced to the super regionals and their national seed is indicated before the team name. All times will be released at approximately 11 a.m., Tuesday, June 6.

Oral Roberts (41-14) at No. 2 Clemson (50-14) Col. of Charleston (46-15) at No. 8 Georgia Tech (48-16) Missouri (35-26) at No. 5 Cal St. Fullerton (46-13) North Carolina (48-13) at No. 4 Alabama (44-19)

The following four best-of-three super regionals will be played Saturday, June 10, Sunday, June 11, and Monday, June 12 (if necessary). The four winners will play their first MCWS games Saturday, June 17. All times will be release at approximately 11 a.m., Tuesday, June 6.

Oklahoma (44-20) at No. 2 Rice (53-10) South Carolina (40-23) at No. 7 Georgia (45-20) Miami (Fla.) (39-21) at Mississippi (43-20) Stanford (33-25) at Oregon St. (42-14)

Please note that some starting times on Monday could change and will be dependent upon the number of games that will be played on that day. Please consult for updates on starting times.

Only one of last year’s MCWS participants can return to Omaha, in Oregon St. Leading all schools in appearances is Miami (Fla.). The Hurricanes have made it eight straight, and their 10 super regional wins are tied with Stanford for the most since the NCAA changed its format to include the super regional round in 1999.

Cal St. Fullerton is in its sixth super regional and fourth in a row, joining four other institutions that are also making it sixth appearance, Clemson, Rice, South Carolina and Stanford. Georgia Tech is making its fifth trip, while this will be the third time playing in a super regional for Georgia. Mississippi and Oregon St. are making its second consecutive and overall appearance, while Alabama and North Carolina are in for the second time as well. Col. of Charleston, Missouri, Oklahoma and Oral Roberts are all in their first-ever super regional.

The determination of the order of first-round games both Friday, June 16, and Saturday, June 17, will be announced Monday, June 12, depending on the if-necessary games for the four super regionals scheduled for June 9-12. The ESPN family of networks and will release the MCWS game times as soon as they are available.

MCWS games scheduled for Friday, June 16 include the winner of the Oral Roberts-Clemson super regional playing the winner of the Col. of Charleston-Georgia Tech super regional, and the winner of the Missouri-Cal St. Fullerton super regional facing the North Carolina-Alabama winner. MCWS games scheduled for Saturday, June 17 include the winner of the Oklahoma-Rice super regional squaring off against the South Carolina-Georgia super regional, and the Miami (Fla.)-Mississippi super regional winner facing the Stanford-Oregon St. winner.

Miami (Fla.) has earned a berth in the Men’s College World Series 21 times, while Stanford has reached the MCWS on 15 occasions. Others in double figures include Cal St. Fullerton playing in 13 and Clemson has made 10 appearances. Oklahoma has made nine and South Carolina has made eight trips to Omaha, while Missouri has made six appearances. Alabama has made five appearances while Georgia, Mississippi, North Carolina and Rice have been in Omaha four times. Georgia Tech and Oregon St., seeking its second straight, have made the MCWS twice. Oral Roberts has advanced to the College World Series once and Col. of Charleston is after its first berth.

The 60th College World Series begins play Friday, June 16, at Rosenblatt Stadium in Omaha, Nebraska.