Search Shop

Clemson To Host NCAA Baseball Regional

May 15, 2000

INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA — All 16 regional sites have been selected for the 54th annual Division I Baseball Championship, it was announced today by the NCAA Division I Baseball Committee.

The 16 regional sites, with host institutions and records through May 14, are as follows: Clemson, S.C. (Clemson University, 42-14), Tallahassee, Fla. (Florida State University, 43-13), Tempe, Ariz. (Arizona State University, 40-12), Waco, Tex.(Baylor University, 42-14), Fullerton, Calif. (California State University, Fullerton, 34-17), Atlanta, Ga. (Georgia Institute of Technology, 42-14), Houston, Tex. (University of Houston, 39-14), Lafayette, La. (University of Louisiana, Lafayette, 39-15), Baton Rouge, La. (Louisiana State University, 39-17), Coral Gables, Fla. (University of Miami, 34-17-1), Minneapolis, Minn. (University of Minnesota, 36-20), Starkville, Miss. (Mississippi State University, 38-15), Oklahoma City, Okla. (University of Oklahoma, 37-19), Upper Montclair, N.J (Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey, 35-15), Columbia, S.C. (University of South Carolina, 50-6), Palo Alto, Calif. (Stanford University, 39-12). All regionals are campus sites except Rutgers (Yogi Berra Park at Montclair State University) and Oklahoma (The Bricktown Ball Park at Oklahoma City).

By virtue of being awarded a regional, all 16 host institutions have also been selected as at-large teams to the 64-team field but some could win automatic berths this week in their respective conference tournaments. Each regional field features four teams, playing a double-elimination format. All 16 regionals will be conducted from Friday, May 26, to Sunday, May 28.

Cal St. Fullerton, La.-Lafayette and Rutgers will host a regional for the first time, while Minnesota is hosting a regional for the first time since 1977 and South Carolina hosts for the first time since 1985. Six of the 16 sites (Baylor, Florida St., Houston, LSU, Miami, Fla., Stanford) also hosted regionals in 1999.

The remaining at-large teams, top eight national seeds and first-round regional pairings will be announced on Monday, May 22, at 2 p.m. Central time, during a live, half-hour program on ESPN. The committee will set the entire 64-team bracket through both the super regionals and the first round of the College World Series. The committee will not reseed the field after play begins. Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be determined after the regional winners are determined and will be announced on Memorial Day, May 29, at 2 p.m., Central time.

Twenty-nine of 30 Division I conferences receive an automatic berth in the field of 64, along with 35 at-large selections. The Mountain West Conference does not have an automatic bid for the 2000 championship.

The 54th College World Series begins play Friday, June 9, at Rosenblatt Stadium in Omaha, Nebraska.