Search Shop
Clemson Picked Eighth In Preseason ACC Women’s Basketball Poll

Clemson Picked Eighth In Preseason ACC Women’s Basketball Poll

Oct. 24, 2007

GREENSBORO, N.C. – The Clemson women’s basketball team was selected to finish eighth in the 2007-08 preseason Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Basketball poll, as determined by a vote of the media at the ACC Women’s Basketball Media Day in addition to the votes of the league’s sports information directors and head coaches.

The Lady Tigers return seven letterwinners, including four starters, from last season’s 12-18 squad. This year’s team features nine underclassmen, including a group of five freshmen who were rated as the #22 signing class in the nation by The All Star Girls Report. Sophomores Christy Brown and Lele Hardy, who both earned ACC All-Freshman honors a year ago, are also back for Head Coach Cristy McKinney, along with Emily Spray. Adrianne Bradshaw and D’Lesha Lloyd are Clemson’s only seniors in 2007-08, while center Moreemi Davis, who red-shirted one season, returns for her junior campaign.

Maryland was picked to finish first, as the Terps return four starters and eight letterwinners from last year’s 28-6 squad that reached the NCAA Tournament for the fourth year in a row. North Carolina followed the Terrapins in the balloting, while Duke was third.

Maryland’s Crystal Langhorne, who led the ACC with a .707 field goal percentage last year and placed in the ACC’s top 10 in both scoring (14.1) and rebounding (8.1) average, was named the 2007-08 Preseason Player-of-the-Year. Joining the 6-2 senior on the preseason squad is teammate Marissa Coleman, North Carolina’s Erlana Larkins, Duke’s Abby Waner, and NC State’s Khadijah Whittington.

The Blue Devils’ Jasmine Thomas was named the Preseason ACC Rookie-of-the-Year.

2007-08 Predicted Order of Finish 1. Maryland (27) 2. North Carolina (10) 3. Duke 4. Florida State 5. Georgia Tech 6. Virginia 7. NC State 8. Clemson 9. Virginia Tech 10. Miami 11. Boston College 12. Wake Forest

2007-08 Preseason All-ACC Team Marissa Coleman, Maryland Crystal Langhorne, Maryland Erlana Larkins, North Carolina Abby Waner, Duke Khadijah Whittington, NC State

Preseason Player of the Year: Crystal Langhorne, Maryland

Preseason Rookie of the Year: Jasmine Thomas, Duke