Clemson Hall Of Fame Selections Announced

Clemson Hall Of Fame Selections Announced

CLEMSON, SC – Eight former athletes and a former coach have been selected to be inducted into the Clemson University Athletic Hall of Fame as announced by Charlie Bussey, Executive Director of the Tiger Lettermen’s Association.

Rick Aronberg, Swimming, Jill Bakehorn, Swimming, Bill Foster, former Men’s Basketball Coach, Bobbie Mims Felder, Women’s Basketball, Chris Gardocki, Football, Michael Green, Track, Lisa Dillard Hanks, Track, Levon Kirkland, Football, and Richard Matuszewski, Tennis are this year’s selections.

Rick Aronberg was a swimmer at Clemson in 1986-90. He was a four-time ACC Champion in the 1650 freestyle, and was also a two-time ACC Champion in the 500 freestyle. Aronberg was also a four-time All-American.

Jill Bakehorn was a 15-time All-American and was a five-time ACC Champion during her career at Clemson. She set Clemson records in the 100 and 200 backstroke and the 200 IM.

Bill Foster coached at Clemson during the 1975-84 seasons. He is the second winningest coach in Clemson history on a percentage basis (.595).

Foster had a 156-106 record in his nine years as head coach. He is tied for the most top 20 wins (16) in Clemson history and also won 13 games in overtime, also a Clemson record. Foster’s best year was 1979-80 when he guided the Tigers to a 23-9 record and the Final Eight of the NCAA Tournament, the farthest Clemson has advanced in the history of the NCAA Tournament. Clemson was also 15-0 at home during the 1979-80 season. The Tigers defeated six top 20 teams that year, still a single season record for ranked wins.

Bobbie Mims-Felder played women’s basketball in 1976-80. She was a second-team All-ACC selection in 1978. She scored 1,448 points during her career, which is currently seventh on the school’s career list for most points scored. She still holds the school’s career record for most assists with 617, an average of 4.89 assists per game.

Chris Gardocki was a two-time All-America placekicker and punter in his career during the 1988-90 seasons. He was a second-team choice as a junior and a third-team selection as a sophomore kicker. He was also a three-time honorable mention All-American as a punter. He ranked fourth in the nation in punting and placekicking as a junior, just the second player in NCAA history to rank in the top five in both areas in the same season. Gardocki never missed a PAT in 72 attempts.

Michael Green was a six-time All-American as a track athlete in 1990-93. He won nine ACC titles, six in individual events and three as part of a relay team. He was the 1992 and 1993 55 meter NCAA Indoor Track National Champion. He was also the 1993 100 meter NCAA Outdoor National Champion. He was the ACC Indoor and Outdoor Meet MVP in 1993.

Lisa Dillard Hanks was a standout in women’s track and field in 1988-1991. A four-time All-American, she placed fourth in the 100 meter and seventh in the 200 meter dash at the 1990 outdoor NCAA meet. She was the ACC 55meter indoor champion in 1989 and 1990. She was also the 1989 ACC Champion in the 100 & 200 meter dashes. She was a member of the 1990 ACC Champion 4×100 meter relay team and was the 100 & 200 meter outdoor champion that year. She was also a member of the 4×100 relay team that won the ACC Team Championship in 1991 for the Lady Tigers.

Levon Kirkland played football at Clemson in 1988-91. He was a two-time All-American in 1990 and 1991. He was also a three-time first-team All-ACC selection. He was a semifinalist for the Lombardi Award in 1991 and was a finalist for the Butkus Award in 1990. He was a prime reason Clemson was number one in the nation in total defense in 1990 and number -one in rushing defense in 1990. He was the MVP of the 1989 Gator Bowl victory over West Virginia.

Richard Matuszewski was a four-time All-American tennis player in 1983-86. He won the Van Nostrand Memorial Award, given annually to the senior player in collegiate tennis who shows the most promise to succeed as a professional. He is second on the Clemson career list for most single victories with 166. He is fourth on the Clemson career list for most double victories with 125. He also won three ACC flight championships during his career.

The Tiger Lettermen’s Association Board of Directors, which comprises the Hall-of-Fame Nominating Committee, accepts recommendations to be considered for the Hall of Fame. From the list of recommendations, up to 10 individuals may be selected in any year. The list of selections is passed to the Athletic Hall-of Fame Approval Committee for a final vote. The Approval Committee includes: the President of Clemson University, Faculty Representative to the NCAA, Athletic Director, Executive Director of the IPTAY Scholarship Fund, President of IPTAY, and President of the Tiger Lettermen’s Association.

The banquet and induction ceremony will be held at the Madren Center on the Clemson campus on Friday, September 14, 2001. Inductees will also be recognized at the Clemson-Duke Football game on September 15. Since its first induction ceremony in 1973, the Clemson University Athletic Hall of Fame has inducted 177 individuals representing the various intercollegiate sports fielded by Clemson.