Search Shop
Clemson Football Communications Honored by FWAA

Clemson Football Communications Honored by FWAA

Clemson’s football athletic communications team was selected to the Football Writers Association of America “Super 11” group of sports information departments deemed the best in the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision for the 2015 season. It was the third time Clemson has been selected in the seven years of the award.

The group earning accolades, led by longtime Clemson SID Tim Bourret with Philip Sikes and Brian Hennessy, included all members of the athletics communications department who each assisted with football media relations during the Tigers’ historic 2015 football season which ended in the College Football National Championship Game. Members of the team include Sam Blackman, Nik Conklin, Jonathan Gantt, Libby Kehn and Jeff Kallin, along with several graduate assistants and students.

Criteria employed in determining the winners not only included how press boxes and media operations were operated, but also the quality and timeliness of information provided. Also judged was the amount of information presented and appropriately updated on websites, and personal responsiveness to media inquiries as well as the accessibility of a program’s players, coaches and assistant coaches. The ratings also considered those departments that went the extra mile in servicing the media.

“This is a great honor for Joe Galbraith, Tim Bourret and our entire group in communications, and a recognition of their commitment to assisting media covering our team, coaches and student-athletes,” Director of Athletics Dan Radakovich said.

Earlier this spring, Clemson’s communications department was named a finalist for the “Best in Sports Social Media” by Sports Business Journal, the only university named among the five finalists, joining Chicago Blackhawks, Dale Earnhardt Jr., the National Basketball Association and the U.S. Women’s National Soccer Team. The winner will be announced May 18 at the Sports Business Awards.     2015 FWAA SUPER 11 Clemson (ACC) Houston (American) Kansas State (Big 12) Louisiana (Sun Belt) Indiana (Big Ten) Mississippi State (SEC) Northern Illinois (MAC) Pitt (ACC) USC (Pac-12) Utah State (Mountain West) Western Kentucky (C-USA)