Search Shop
Clemson Announces 2002 Awards

Clemson Announces 2002 Awards

April 30, 2002

CLEMSON, SC – The Clemson swimming and diving team has released the award winners for the 2001-2002 season. Among the award winners were most valuable performers Mark Henly and Jenna Burtch. Henly was solid all season for the Tigers in the 200 and 400 IM’s and he led the Tigers in the 200 back all season. Burtch led the Tigers in three events this season, the 50, 100 and 200 free. Burtch was also a large part of the Tiger relay teams that qualified for the NCAA Championships. The award winners for most inspirational performance were Rob Kummer and the women’s 400 free relay. Kummer earned the award for his performance in the 200 fly at the ACC Championships when he posted a time of 1:47.21 and a second-place finish. The women’s 400 free relay earned the award for their conference championship and NCAA qualifying time of 3:20.53 that they posted at the ACC meet. The complete list of awards winners follows.

Complete list of awards:

Most Valuable Performers Mark Henly Jenna Burtch

Most Improved Andrew Scheerhorn Courtney Humes

Rookie of the Year Thomas Rappold Christine Woodruff

Most Dedicated in the Weight Room Matthew Wilson Craig Thomas Mandy Commons Katie Brown

Most Dedicated Overall Matthew Norman Matthew Wilson Jenna Burtch Virginia Kirouac

Tiger Pride Award Thomas “Buddy” Reed James Stoffer Beverly Chin Carolina Douglas

Coaches Award Ryan Cassella Eric Shulick Adam Tepe Mary Brewer

Most Inspirational Performance Women’s 400 free relay at ACC’S Rob Kummer 200 fly at ACC’S

All ACC Certificates Rob Kummer Craig Thomas Patty Hider Mandy Commons Christine Woodruff Lindsey Kroeger Elise Theiler Jenna Burtch

Senior Gift Matthew Wilson Andy Meek Kenny Roberts German Martinez Caroline Peterson Carolina Douglas Virginia Kirouac Beverly Chin Emily Hustead Patty Hider

Support Staff Appreciation Awards Ginty Porter Dave Helms Tiffany Burby Jeff Morris CJ Johnson Amanda Thompson