Search Shop

Clemson #3 Seed for ACC Baseball Tournament

May 16, 2009

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Atlantic Division champion Florida State and Coastal Division winner North Carolina will be the two top seeded teams for the 2009 Atlantic Coast Conference Baseball Championship, which will be held from Wednesday, May 20 though Sunday, May 24, at Durham Bulls Athletic Park in Durham, N.C.

As the No. 1 overall seed, Florida State (19-9 in ACC play) will be placed atop Division A and will be joined by No. 4 Georgia Tech (17-10-1), No. 5 Miami (18-12) and No. 8 Boston College (13-15).

North Carolina (19-10) is the No. 2 seed and will be joined in Division B by No. 3 Clemson (19-11), No. 6 Virginia (16-11-1) and No. 7 Duke (15-15).

Opening match-ups in the round-robin tournament will feature Florida State vs. Boston College, and Georgia Tech vs. Miami in Division A play. The Division B bracket will feature North Carolina vs. Duke, and Clemson vs. Virginia.

Complete pairings and game times for the entire 2009 ACC Baseball Championship will be released by 5 p.m. on Sunday.

Under the pool-play format, each team will play one game against each of the other three opponents in its division Wednesday-Saturday (May 20-23). The two teams with the best records within their respective division brackets will advance to the title game on Sunday, May 24, with the winner earning the ACC’s automatic berth into the NCAA Tournament.

All 13 games of this year’s 36th annual ACC Baseball Championship will be televised for the third straight year with RSN, a regional network that includes Comcast SportsNet Mid-Atlantic, FOX Sports Net South, FOX Sports Florida and New England Sports Network, providing coverage. Selected other games will be available via Sun Sports and SportsSouth. Check local listings for more details.

In addition, ISP Sports will be the national radio carrier of this year’s league tournament via XM radio and ISP’s national network of affiliates. Live stats will also be available at the ACC Baseball Championship site.

2009 ACC BASEBALL CHAMPIONSHIP SEEDINGSMay 20-24 at Durham Bulls Athletic Park (Durham, N.C.)

DIVISION A – No. 1 Florida State, No. 4 Georgia Tech, No. 5 Miami, No. 8 Boston CollegeDIVISION B – No. 2 North Carolina, No. 3 Clemson, No. 6 Virginia, No. 7 Duke

FIRST-ROUND PAIRINGSDivision A Florida State vs. Boston College Georgia Tech vs. MiamiDivision B North Carolina vs. Duke Clemson vs. Virginia

Round-robin pool play will be held May 20-23 (game times Noon, 4 p.m. and 8 p.m. each day). The winner of each division will then advance to meet in the championship game on Sunday, May 24, at 1 p.m.