Search Shop
Brad Miller Wins Brooks Wallace Shortstop-of-the-Year Award

Brad Miller Wins Brooks Wallace Shortstop-of-the-Year Award

July 5, 2011

Clemson, SC –

Clemson junior Brad Miller (Windermere, FL) received the Brooks Wallace Shortstop-of-the-Year Award, presented Sunday in Lubbock, TX. The award was presented along with four other national awards on the same night that the 2011 Hall of Famers were inducted. The awards show and induction ceremony were combined this year to create College Baseball’s Night of Champions.

Miller, the 2011 ACC Player-of-the-Year, led the ACC in batting average (.395) and on-base percentage (.498). He also totaled 11 doubles, three triples, five homers, 50 RBIs, 53 runs, and 21 stolen bases in 56 games (54 starts). He was drafted in the second round by the Seattle Mariners as well.

He said that he enjoyed meeting the family of the award’s namesake and was excited to be able to represent Clemson in such a positive way. “Being a shortstop and taking pride in playing the position, and then also being able to represent Clemson and bring an award back to the school to continue the tradition there…it’s a huge honor.”

The late Bill Wilhelm, who won 1,161 games as Clemson head coach from 1958-93, was one of the Hall of Fame inductees during Sunday’s ceremony. In February, it was announced that Wilhelm was one of seven members of the 2011 Hall of Fame class.