Search Shop
Blossomgame Honored by USBWA

Blossomgame Honored by USBWA

CLEMSON, S.C. — Junior forward Jaron Blossomgame was named first-team All-District III on Tuesday by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association (USBWA). Blossomgame is joined on the team by nine players from District III, which encompasses South Carolina, North Carolina, Virginia and Maryland. Virginia’s Tony Bennett and Malcolm Brogdon were named District III Coach and Player of the Year, respectively.

Blossomgame put together one of the best individual seasons in Clemson history in 2015-16. Blossomgame is third in the ACC in overall (18.6 ppg) and ACC-game (20.7) scoring. He also finished the regular season sixth in the ACC in field goal accuracy (51.6 percent), while shooting a career-best 44.9 percent from three-point distance. Blossomgame scored 373 points in the ACC regular season, third-most in program history.

Blossomgame ranked among the league leaders with 15 games with at least 20 points, and three games of 30 or more. His top scoring effort was at NC State, where he poured in a career-high 33. He also posted 31 against No. 4 Virginia and 30 against Notre Dame. He also averaged over 20 points per game against top-25 teams, helping the Tigers to four such wins in the month of January.

USBWA All-District III Team

Grayson Allen, Duke

Anthony Barber, NC State

Jaron Blossomgame, Clemson

Malcolm Brogdon, Virginia

Michael Carrera, South Carolina

Jack Gibbs, Davidson

Anthony Gill, Virginia

Brandon Ingram, Duke

Brice Johnson, North Carolina

Melo Trimble, Maryland