Search Shop
Beyond the Game – Rebekah Smith

Beyond the Game – Rebekah Smith

Note: The following appears in the March issue of Orange: The Experience. For full access to all of the publication’s content, join IPTAY today by calling 864-656-2115.

Q. How would you describe your hometown?
A. My hometown is Irmo, South Carolina. It’s small and it’s right on the outskirts of Columbia, and everyone pretty much knows each other.

Q. How would you characterize your family?
A. My family is just me and my mom at home, so it’s pretty small. My mom raised a lot of kids, like my cousins. But we’re all one big family, and everyone comes together.

Q. Who is your biggest inspiration in life?
A. My biggest inspiration is my mom, both academically and athletically. My mom didn’t run track, but she was still an athlete in high school and middle school, and she pushes me to be the best I can be.

Q. If you could choose one song to describe yourself, what would it be?
A. Any song by Rihanna, so maybe ‘Work.’ I always say I’m Rihanna.

Q. What is your go-to, late-night snack?
A. Cookies

Q. How did you first become involved with track & field?
A. In high school, my freshman year, I wanted to do something else. My friends were all doing track, and they got me involved.

Q. In what ways has being an athlete made an impact on your life?
A. Being an athlete has allowed me to grow more as a person and as a woman. I’m able to learn new skills every day and meet new people.

Q. What is your favorite place to visit in the offseason?
A. California

Q. What is something many people don’t know about you?
A. I like poetry and the spoken word. I listen to that a lot and I read poetry. I like Milk & Honey and any book by R.H. Sin.

Q. How did Clemson stand out to you when looking at schools?
A. Clemson wasn’t too far away from home, but it was still away from home. It’s another home away from home.

Q. How did you choose your major?
A. At first, I was an early childhood education major, but that switched to psychology with a minor in biology. It was something I could do to pursue a medical career.

Q. What does an average day entail for you?
A. I wake up. I eat breakfast. I go to tutoring. Then I have an advisory meeting, classes, practice, more tutoring and then sleep.

Q. What has been your most memorable Clemson moment so far?
A. I really enjoy the football games and all the events on campus with other clubs and organizations. Going to nationals in Oregon with the team was also fun.

Q. What are you looking forward to most in the next years at Clemson?
A. Focusing on me and what makes me happy, doing great things on the track and seeing where this can take me.

Q. What are your goals after graduation?
A. I want to move to California and get a job with my aunt doing pharmaceutical sales. I want to go out into the world and live life.