Search Shop
Augusto, Harrington Lead Tigers at ITA Carolina Regionals

Augusto, Harrington Lead Tigers at ITA Carolina Regionals

CLEMSON, S.C. – Seniors Alejandro Augusto and Hunter Harrington led the Clemson men’s tennis team at the 2014 ITA Carolina Regionals this past week. The duo advanced to the final in the main draw doubles bracket, beating Brett Clark and Brayden Schnur of North Carolina, the tournament’s No. 1 seed and eighth-best doubles team in the nation, in Sunday’s semifinals. 

Augusto and Harrington won the first set 6-3 in Monday’s title match, but lost the next set 3-6 and lost the match in an 11-9 super tiebreak to Ian Dempster and Robbie Mudge from North Carolina State. Augusto and Harrington won a total of four matches to advance to the final after a bye in the first round.

Harrington, a native of Spartanburg, also played well in the main draw singles bracket, winning his first four matches en route to a quarterfinal matchup with Jason Tahir of Duke. Tahir edged Harrington in three sets (6-3, 4-6, 7-5) to advance. 

Augusto experienced similar success in singles play. The Madrid, Spain native won his first three matches to advance to the Round of 16 before falling to Brayden Schnur of North Carolina, the tournament’s No. 1 seed, in three sets (6-7 (2), 6-1, 6-4).

Junior Luke Johnson, sophomore Daffra Sanon and freshman Hampton Drake each won a first round singles match in the tournament, while junior Austin Ansari and sophomore Fernando Sala both won their consolation singles matches. 

The doubles team of Ansari and Johnson won their first two matches in main draw doubles play. The duos of Sala and Sanon, and Drake and sophomore Christian Harris each won a first round match before falling. 

The Tigers are back in action starting on Thursday, Oct. 30 at the USTA Collegiate Invitational at Disney. That tournament runs until Sunday, Nov. 2. 

Clemson Men’s Tennis Results at ITA Regionals


First Round

Alejandro Augusto (CU) def. Matt Erdman (WAKE) 6-3, 6-4Daffra Sanon (CU) def. Haris Poric (WOFF) 7-6 (3), 6-0Hampton Drake (CU) def. Jonathan O’Neal (CAMP) 6-2, 6-4Hunter Harrington (CU) def. William East (CENT) 6-2, 6-1Luke Johnson (CU) def. Steven Billlington (CAMP) 6-1, 6-2Stuart DePaulo (UNC) def. Austin Ansari (CU) 6-1, 6-4Marthinus Visser (CAMP) def. Brent Lett (CU) 6-4, 6-2Thomas Weigle (NCST) def. Daniel Strawn (CU) 6-1, 5-3 (ret.)Thiago Pinheiro (SCAR) def. Fernando Sala (CU) 6-3, 6-4 

Second Round (64)

Alejandro Augusto (CU) def. Jack Maddocks (APST) 6-2, 6-2Hunter Harrington (CU) def. Christian Van Der Burg (UNCW) 6-3, 3-6, 6-3Ronnie Scheider (UNC) def. Daffra Sanon (CU) 4-6, 6-1, 6-3Jack Murray (UNC) def. Hampton Drake (CU) 7-5, 5-5 (ret.)Robbie Mudge (NCST) def. Luke Johnson (CU) 3-6, 6-4, 6-0

Third Round (32)

Alejandro Augusto (CU) def. Andres Torres (UNCW) 5-7, 6-3, 7-5Hunter Harrington (CU) def. Skander Mansouri (WAKE) 6-4, 6-2

Round of 16

Brayden Schnur (UNC) def. Alejandro Augusto (CU) 6-7 (2), 6-1, 6-4Hunter Harrington (CU) def. Kyle Koch (SCAR) 6-4, 3-6, 7-5


Jason Tahir (DUKE) def. Hunter Harrington (CU) 6-3, 4-6, 7-5


Austin Ansari (CU) def. Fredric Lehfeldt (ECU) 2-6, 7-5, 6-0Fernando Sala (CU) def. Dreshaun Jarmon (NCA&T) 6-4, 6-2


First Round (64)

Alejandro Augusto, Hunter Harrington (CU) def. BYEAustin Ansari, Luke Johnson (CU) def. Matt Erdman, Nicky Kunz (WAKE) 8-3Fernando Sala, Daffra Sanon (CU) def. Viktor Selander, Ramon Simonetti (USCU) 8-5Hampton Drake, Christian Harris (CU) def. Steven Billington, Nicolas Rakitin (CAMP) 8-6Robert Kelly, Oystein Steiro (UNC) def. Brent Lett, Daniel Strawn (CU) w/o

Second Round (32)

Alejandro Augusto, Hunter Harrington (CU) def. Beck Bond, Shoti Meparidze (NCST) 8-4Austin Ansari, Luke Johnson (CU) def. Nikita Zverkov, Ernest Alberch (GW) 8-6Nicolas Alvarez, Raphael Hemmeler (DUKE) def. Austin Ansari, Luke Johnson (CU) 8-7 (5)Ian Dempster, Robbie Mudge (NCST) def. Hampton Drake, Christian Harris (CU) 8-7 (6)Brett Clark, Brayden Schnur (UNC) def. Fernando Sala, Daffra Sanon (CU) 8-2

Round of 16

Alejandro Augusto, Hunter Harrington (CU) def. Stefan Fortmann, Brian Kowalski (ELON) 8-5


Alejandro Augusto, Hunter Harrington (CU) def. Robert Kelly, Oystein Steiro (UNC) 8-4


Alejandro Augusto, Hunter Harrington (CU) def. Brett Clark, Brayden Schnur (UNC) 4-6, 7-6 (3), 1-0 (7)


Ian Dempster, Robbie Mudge (NCST) def. Alejandro Augusto, Hunter Harrington (CU) 3-6, 6-3, 1-0 (9)