Atlantic Coast Conference Announces 2007-08 Academic Honor Roll

Aug. 13, 2008

GREENSBORO, N.C. – The 52nd annual Atlantic Coast Conference Academic Honor Roll, noting academic excellence by student-athletes for the 2007-08 school year, was released today by Commissioner John D. Swofford.

The Honor Roll is comprised of those student-athletes who participated in a varsity-level sport and registered a grade point average of 3.00 or better for the full academic year. This year saw 2,710 student-athletes honored for their hard work in the classroom. Boston College led the conference in total selections with 408. Duke placed second with 388.

North Carolina was third with 286 honorees, while Maryland was fourth with 272. Virginia saw 226 student-athletes earn spots on the list, followed by Virginia Tech (201), Clemson (188), Florida State and NC State (174), Wake Forest (139), Miami (133), and Georgia Tech (121).

Headlining this year’s Honor Roll are 16 five-time honorees and 207 four-time recipients. Wake Forest claimed a league-leading four five-time honorees. Virginia claimed three, while Clemson, Duke, Georgia Tech and NC State had two apiece and Maryland one. Those honorees include Clemson’s Jay Crout and Bryce Herrington, Duke’s Tony McDevitt and Nicholas O’Hara, Georgia Tech’s David Herren and Taylor Narewski, Maryland’s Charles Pinto, NC State’s Jennifer Boyd and Chris Kollar, Virginia’s Meghan O’Leary, Janine Ricci and Taylor Smith; and Wake Forest’s Jill Ahrens, Louis Frazier, Charles Mellies and Matthew Owen.

The 2007-08 Academic Honor Roll includes 19 ACC Players of the Year. Individual honorees included on this year’s list are Duke’s Amanda Blumenherst (Women’s Golf), Matt Danowksi (Men’s Lacrosse) and DeMarcus Nelson (Basketball Defender); Florida State’s Gonzalo Barroilhet (Men’s Indoor Field) and Buster Posey (Baseball); Georgia Tech’s Kristi Miller (Women’s Tennis), Maryland’s Omar Gonzalez (Men’s Soccer Defender), Dana Dobbie (Women’s Lacrosse), Crystal Langhorne (Women’s Basketball) and Hudson Taylor (Wrestling); Miami’s Reuben Ross (Men’s Diving), Brittany Viola (Women’s Diving) and Kristy Whyte (Women’s Track); North Carolina’s Rachel Dawson (Field Hockey Defender), NC State’s Kollar (Men’s Cross Country), Wake Forest’s Webb Simpson (Men’s Golf), and Virginia Tech’s Jessica Botzum (Women’s Swimming), Brittany Pryor (Women’s Indoor Field) and Angela Tincher (Softball Pitcher),

The eight ACC Freshmen of the Year named to the honor roll include Duke’s Emma Hamm (Women’s Lacrosse), Florida State’s Barroilhet (Men’s Indoor Field), Georgia Tech’s Guillermo Gomez (Men’s Tennis), Miami’s Brittney Steinbruch (Women’s Soccer) and Chris Hernandez (Baseball); NC State’s Colleen Wetherbee (Women’s Cross Country), Virginia’s Emil Heineking (Men’s Cross Country) and Wake Forest’s Natalie Sheary (Women’s Golf).

A complete listing of the student-athletes on the 2007-08 ACC Honor Roll can be found by clicking on the link below.

2007-08 ACC Honor Roll