ACC Announces 50th Anniversary Fencing Team

Sept. 19, 2002

GREENSBORO, N.C. — The Atlantic Coast Conference 50th Anniversary Fencing Team was announced today by Commissioner John Swofford. The 24-member team was selected based upon the seasons that fencing was recognized as a league sport. It was a discontinued sport after the 1980 ACC Championship. The 24-member team was determined using the results from the 1971-80 ACC Championships and includes the individual champions as decided by the league’s 50th Anniversary Committee.

North Carolina placed nine members on the Golden Anniversary team while Maryland placed seven, Clemson (3), Duke and Virginia (2) and NC State (1).

George Podgorski, Clemson He was the epee division champion in the ACC in 1977 … was Clemson’s first ACC Champion in fencing regardless of weapon.

Steve Renshaw, Clemson Highly touted fencer in high school, fenced for Clemson for four years in the sabre division … his freshman year, he recorded a fifth-place finish at the NCAA Championships to win All-America honors … his sophomore year, he was named to 1st team All ACC … was a fencing All-American three years in a row … his junior year, placed fourth in the sabre division at the NCAA Championships … in 1980, captured the ACC Sabre Championship.

Jay Thomas, Clemson Placed fifth in the epee division as a freshman … named first-team All-ACC and recorded the most wins by a freshman in a season at Clemson … was named to first-team All-ACC as a sophomore … garnered Honorable Mention All American honors as well as first team All-Atlantic Regional as a junior … named an All American his senior year, placing fourth overall in the NCAA Championships with a record of 45-5.