Search Shop
ACC Announces 2010-11 Academic Honor Roll

ACC Announces 2010-11 Academic Honor Roll

July 29, 2011

GREENSBORO, N.C. – The 55th annual Atlantic Coast Conference Academic Honor Roll, recognizing academic excellence by student-athletes during the 2010-11 academic year, was announced today by Commissioner John Swofford.

The Honor Roll is comprised of student-athletes who participated in a varsity-level sport and registered a grade point average of 3.00 or better for the full academic year. The conference acknowledged a record 2,834 student-athletes for their hard work in the classroom during the 2010-11 academic year.

Duke led the league with 425 selections, and Boston College followed with 407. Maryland was third with 280 honorees, while Virginia placed fourth with 250. North Carolina had 247 student-athletes recognized, followed by NC State with 213 and Virginia Tech with 208. Clemson (195), Florida State (182), Georgia Tech (150), Miami (149) and Wake Forest (128) rounded out the list.

Headlining this year’s Honor Roll is six-time honoree Brittany Tinsley of NC State. Twenty-three student-athletes are five-time ACC Honor Roll recipients: Boston College’s Caitlin Bailey, Samantha Gawrych and Kristine Stigas; Clemson’s Jennifer Agee and Justin Sarratt; Duke’s Mitchell Lederman and Matt Thomas; Florida State’s Matthew Jenije; Georgia Tech’s Matthew Hickey, Perron Jones, Zach Krish, Thomas Oatts and Alexander Stephenson; Miami’s Michael Rudman; North Carolina’s Elizabeth Dradzowski; NC State’s Sarah Merritt; Virginia’s Stephanie Garcia and Ayla Smith; Virginia Tech’s Kelly Phillips, Caitlin Thorney and Asia Washington; and Wake Forest’s Chris Langley and Kim Vos.

The 2010-11 Academic Honor Roll features 20 ACC Players of the Year. Those student-athletes include Clemson’s Laura Bassadonna (rowing crew), Becca Brown (rowing crew). Heather Cummings (rowing crew), Sarah Daanen (rowing crew), Brad Miller (baseball) and Miller Moss (indoor track and field); Duke’s Kellie Catanach (volleyball), Lindy Duncan (women’s golf), Abby Jonson (women’s diving), Nolan Smith (men’s basketball) and Andrew Wenger (men’s soccer); Florida State’s Maurice Mitchell (men’s indoor and outdoor track) and Kim Williams (women’s indoor track and field); Georgia Tech’s Guillermo Gomez (men’s tennis); Miami’s Bianca Eichkorn (women’s tennis); NC State’s Laura Hoer (cross country); Virginia’s Emil Heineking (cross country), Danny Hultzen (baseball pitcher of the year) and Lauren Perdue (women’s swimming); and Wake Forest’s Anna Nosenko (indoor track).

The league has 12 ACC Freshmen of the Year named to the honor roll, including Boston College’s Alycia Da’Loia-Moore (rowing) and Tori Speer (softball), Duke’s Laetitia Beck (women’s golf) and Nick McCrory (men’s swimming), Florida State’s Jakub Ziven (men’s cross country), Maryland’s Patrick Mullins (men’s soccer) and Danny O’Brien (football), North Carolina’s Abbey Friend (women’s lacrosse); NC State’s Hoer (cross country), Virginia Tech’s Samira Burkhardt (indoor and outdoor track and field) and Devin Carter (wrestling); and Wake Forest’s Katie Stengel (women’s soccer).

The complete ACC Academic Honor Roll for the 2010-11 academic year is available at the link below.

Complete Honor Roll