Tigers Fall at Florida State

Jan. 15, 2011

Final Stats

TALLAHASSEE, Fl. – The Clemson men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams were defeated by Florida State on Saturday afternoon. The men fell to the Seminoles by a score of 187-113, while the women were downed by a score of 188-107.

The loss drops the Tigers to 4-3 on the men’s side and 3-4 on the women’s side. Both teams are now 1-2 in ACC competition.

The Clemson men were led by Chris Dart, who took home first place in the 100 backstroke with a time of 49.87 seconds, more than two seconds ahead of all other competitors. He also won the 200 backstroke, swimming it in 1:49.85. Andrew Abeysinghe (1:50.98) finished second in the event.

Lucas Gerotto’s time of 1:51.41 was tops in the 200 breaststroke. Eric Bruck won the 50 freestyle with a time of 20.45 seconds. Seth Broster was victorious in the 100 butterfly with a time of 50.31 seconds, and Harry Foster finished third in 51.33 seconds.

Alex Carr finished second in the 1000 freestyle with a time of 9:34.08, and Chris Reinke’s time of 46.24 seconds was good enough for second place in the 100 freestyle.

The Clemson women were paced by another solid performance from Meg Anderson eked out a victory in the 50 freestyle, as her time of 23.91 seconds was one-hundredth of a second quicker than Tiffany Oliver of Florida State. Anderson also won the 100 freestyle in 51.84 seconds.

Elizabeth Savage came in second place in the 100 breaststroke with a time of 1:07.59. Maddie Tarantolo (57.20), Sarah Bechard (57.40), and Kelsey Krauss (57.73) finished 2-3-4 in the 100 butterfly.

Both teams also picked up a victory in the relays. The men’s 400 medley relay squad of Dart, Mark Schindler, Broster, and Bruck finished first with a time of 3:22.32. The women’s 800 freestyle relay squad of Kristen Redmond, Krauss, Anderson, and Cervone won its race with a time of 7:45.11.

The Tigers will return to the pool on Sunday, January 23 in Athens, GA in a neutral-site meet against N.C. State that was recently rescheduled. The meet will begin at 10 a.m.