Search Shop
Six Tigers Compete in Atlanta at Zone B Championships

Six Tigers Compete in Atlanta at Zone B Championships

Meet Information:What: NCAA Zone B ChampionshipWhen: Monday, Mar. 7 – Wednesday, Mar. 9Where: McAuley Aquatic Center (Atlanta, Ga.)

ATLANTA, Ga. – Clemson diving heads to Atlanta, Ga. to compete in the NCAA Zone B Diving Championship on Monday, Mar. 7 through Wednesday, Mar. 9 at the McAuley Aquatic Center at Georgia Tech. The meet is the last step for divers to make the NCAA Division I Championship meet later this month. The scoring and qualifying standards for divers competing in the Zone meet goes as follows:

The top five female and top four male divers from each event at their respective zone diving meet will be eligible to compete at the NCAA championships. Additional place finishers in each event at each zone will be eligible based on the number of student-athletes from that zone who finished in the top 16 in that event at the previous year’s championships NCAA championships. All eligible divers must have achieved the zone qualifying score prior to the NCAA championships in all events they wish to participate.

Freshman Sarah Blank, junior Sarah Braun, sophomore Hannah Donovan, senior Megan Helwagen, freshman Caylin Hirapara, and junior Danielle Reitsma make up the six Clemson representatives at the meet. Teams represented in the Zone B group, also competing in Atlanta, include Alabama, Auburn, Davidson, Duke, East Carolina, Florida, Florida Atlantic, Florida Gulf Coast, Florida International, Florida State, Georgia, Georgia Southern, Georgia Tech, Miami, North Carolina, NC State, South Carolina, Tennessee, and UNC-Wilmington.

The Tigers’ first action will come on Monday when the Women’s 1-meter Preliminaries kick off at 11 AM with the Women’s 1-Meter Finals event being scheduled at 1:30 PM later that day. Day two will see Women’s 3-Meter Preliminaries begin at 3:15 PM with Finals for that event slotted for 5:45 PM. The final day of competition will include the Platform event, in which the Women’s Preliminaries are set to begin at 2:15 PM with the Finals in the event starting at 4 PM.