Search
Clemson Defeats Alabama A&M, 3-0, In Volleyball Action Friday Afternoon

Clemson Defeats Alabama A&M, 3-0, In Volleyball Action Friday Afternoon

Sept. 16, 2005

Final Stats

AUBURN, AL – The Clemson volleyball team (4-2) won its first match in the Mizuno/Auburn Challenge over the Alabama A&M Bulldogs, 3-0, on Friday, Sept. 16 (30-27, 30-14, 30-19). Jeannette Abbott led the Tigers in both total kills and hitting percentage, tallying 13 kills against only one error in 32 attempts for a .375 mark.

The team hit .318 overall and recorded nine service aces, including three by sophomore Leslie Mansfield. Brittani Lewis and Alexandria Brazelton each had eight kills to lead Alabama A&M.

The Tigers came out strong in the first game, taking a 13-4 lead, but the Bulldogs crept back into the game and tied the score at 25 apiece. Clemson scored five of the next seven points to claim the game, 30-27. Abbott had four kills in that stretch to give Clemson a 1-0 lead in the match.

In the second game, the Tigers held a 12-4 advantage after Mansfield served eight consecutive points, including two of her service aces. They took the game by a score of 30-14 to go up 2-0 on Alabama A&M.

Clemson won the third game and the match on Laura Boozer’s fourth kill of the afternoon. The Tigers never trailed in the contest and claimed the final game, 30-19, for Clemson’s fourth victory of the season.

The Tigers will face the Furman Paladins Saturday morning at 11:00 AM EST (10:00 AM CST) to begin the second day of competition. Clemson and Auburn will take to the court in the final match of the tournament at 8:00 PM EST (7:00 PM CST).

News