Search
Clemson Announces 2002 Schedule

Clemson Announces 2002 Schedule

April 23, 2002

CLEMSON, SC – The Clemson volleyball team’s 2002 schedule was released this afternoon by head coach Jolene Jordan Hoover. The schedule features nine matches against six teams that advanced to last year’s NCAA tournament.

Hoover’s 2002 team will open its season at the Pepperdine Tournament in Malibu, CA, on Aug. 30-31. Clemson’s first home match is on Sept. 4 against SEC-rival Georgia in Jervey Gym. Clemson will then play host to the Big Orange Bash on Sept. 6-7. East Carolina, George Mason and Jacksonville will compete in this year’s tournament.

The Tigers will travel to Columbia, SC, to take on the Gamecocks on Sept. 10. Clemson will continue its’ road trips as the Tigers play in the Texas Tech Tournament on Sept. 13-14 where they will face Texas Tech, New Mexico State and Arizona State. On Sept. 20-21, the Tigers will play host to the Clemson Invitational as Texas Christian, Virginia Tech and Coastal Carolina travel to Clemson.

Clemson will open its 2002 ACC season on the road against Virginia and Maryland on Sept. 27 and 28, respectively. The Tigers will return home for their first ACC match in Jervey Gym on Oct. 1 against North Carolina. Clemson will also play host to Florida State, NC State and Georgia Tech before its next road series where the Tigers will face Wake Forest and Duke. After facing the Demon Deacons and Blue Devils, Clemson returns home on Oct. 25-26 to face Maryland and Virginia before traveling to NC State, North Carolina, Georgia Tech and Florida State. Clemson will conclude its ACC play and home matches Nov. 15 and 16 when the Tigers play host to Duke and Wake Forest.

Clemson will compete at the ACC Championships Nov. 21-24, in Atlanta, as Georgia Tech will be the host school. Clemson will conclude its’ regular season schedule with a Nov. 29 match at the University of Kentucky.

The Tigers are returning four starters and 11 letterwinners from last year’s team.

2002 Clemson Volleyball Schedule Date Opponent Time

Aug. 30-31 @Pepperdine Tournament TBA (Fri-Sat)

Sept. 4 (Wed) Georgia 7:00 p.m.

Sept. 6-7 Big Orange Bash TBA (Fri-Sat) (Clemson, East Carolina, George Mason, Jacksonville)

Sept. 10 (Tues) @ South Carolina 7:00 p.m.

Sept. 13-14 @ Texas Tech Tournament TBA (Fri-Sat) (Clemson, Arizona State, New Mexico State, Texas Tech)

Sept. 20-21 Clemson Invitational TBA (Fri-Sat) (Clemson, Coastal Carolina, Texas Christian, Virginia Tech)

Sept. 24 (Tues) @ Furman 7:00 p.m.

Sept. 27 (Fri) @ Virginia 7:30 p.m.

Sept. 28 (Sat) @Maryland 5:00 p.m

Oct. 1 (Tues) North Carolina 7:00 p.m.

Oct. 5 (Sat) Florida State 4:00 p.m.

Oct. 6 (Sun) NC State 2:00 p.m.

Oct. 11 (Fri) Georgia Tech 7:00 p.m.

Oct. 15 (Tues) @Wake Forest 6:00 p.m.

Oct. 20 (Sun) @ Duke 2:00 p.m.

Oct. 25 (Fri) Maryland 7:00 p.m.

Oct. 26 (Sat) Virginia *7:30p.m.

Nov. 1 (Fri) @NC State 7:00 p.m.

Nov. 2 (Sat) @ North Carolina 6:00 pm.

Nov. 5 (Tues) @Georgia Tech 7:00 p.m.

Nov. 9 (Sat) @Florida State 7:00 p.m.

Nov. 15 (Fri) Duke 7:00 p.m.

Nov. 16 (Sat) Wake Forest *7:30 p.m.

Nov. 21-24 ACC Tournament @ GT TBA (Thurs-Sun)

Nov. 29 (Fri) @ Kentucky TBA

Dec. 5-7 NCAA 1st and 2nd Rounds TBA

Dec. 12-14 NCAA Regionals TBA

Dec. 19-21 NCAA Final Four TBA

*Time could change due to football game

News