Search Shop
2009 Clemson Football Award Winners Announced at Team’s Postseason Awards Banquet

2009 Clemson Football Award Winners Announced at Team’s Postseason Awards Banquet

Jan. 11, 2010


CLEMSON, SC – Clemson Head Coach Dabo Swinney announced award winners for the 2009 football season at the team’s awards banquet on Saturday evening. The Tigers concluded the season with a 9-5 record, Atlantic Division Champions of the Atlantic Coast Conference, and as the #24 ranked team in the nation by Associated Press.

John Heisman Award. The John Heisman Award is presented to a Clemson football player who is named a unanimous first-team All-American.

Spiller was named the Most Valuable Player of the Atlantic Coast Conference, the first Clemson player to win that award since 1986. He was a first-team All-American by every service. He was the only player in the nation to score at least one touchdown in every one of his team’s games and he ranked fourth in the nation in all-purpose running (2588 yards) and fifth in total touchdowns with 21.

DeAndre McDaniel was named the MVP of the defense. McDaniel was a first-team All-American according to the Football Writers Association and a first-team All-ACC selection. He had eight interceptions to tie a Clemson record, and finished fourth on the team in tackles with 102. He became the first player in Clemson history with eight interceptions and at least 100 tackles in the same year.

The list of award winners follows:


Solid Rock Award — Most solid, consistent, and dependable player by position: QB — Kyle Parker RB — C.J. Spiller WR — Jacoby Ford TE — Michael Palmer OL — Thomas Austin

Hustle Award — Player who gave consistent effort throughout the year and served as an inspiration to his teammates: Terrance Ashe

12th Man Award — Contributed the most off the bench: Jamie Harper and Andre Ellington

Rookie of the Year Kyle Parker and Dalton Freeman

Iron Man Award — Dependable player who played through injury:Chad Diehl

Special Teams Player of the YearC.J. Spiller

Scout Team Player of the Year Tajh Boyd and Caleb Simmons

Most Valuable PlayerC.J. Spiller


Solid Rock Award DB — Marcus Gilchrist DT — Jarvis Jenkins DE — Kevin Alexander LB — Kavell Conner

Hustle Award Chris Chancellor and Crezdon Butler

12th Man AwardAndre Branch

Iron Man Award Ricky Sapp

Rookie of the Year AwardMalliciah Goodman and Rashard Hall

Special Teams Player of the Year Kevin Alexander

Scout Team Player of the Year Tyler Shatley and Spencer Shuey

Specialist of the Year Michael Wade

Defensive MVP DeAndre McDaniel


Highest GPA (Freshmen) – Matt Skinner Highest GPA (Sophomores) – Dawson Zimmerman Highest GPA (Juniors) – Byron Clear Highest GPA (Seniors) – Michael Wade Highest GPA (Team) – Caleb Simmons

Vickery Hall Award – to individuals that exemplify the values of Vickery Hall: DeAndre McDaniel, Michael Palmer, Jaron Brown


All-Americans: Offense: Thomas Austin Defense: Kevin Alexander

Dedication Award Offense: Chad Diehl Defense: Kavell Conner

Permanent Captains Awards Offense: Michael Palmer, Thomas Austin, C.J. Spiller Defense: Kavell Conner