Search Shop
Woods Named to Shaun Alexander Freshman of the Year Award Watch List

Woods Named to Shaun Alexander Freshman of the Year Award Watch List

The Maxwell Football Club announced today that defensive tackle Peter Woods has been named as one of 37 candidates on the watch list for the Shaun Alexander Freshman of the Year Award, presented annually to the nation’s most outstanding freshman. Additional information from the Maxwell Football Club is included below.

Visit the 2023 Preseason Honors hub for more preseason accolades garnered by Clemson.

The Maxwell Football Club today announced the watch list for the 6th annual Shaun Alexander Freshman of the Year Award presented to the outstanding freshman player in college football. Once again, this year, the award will be presented at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala along with several of the other top awards in college and professional football.

The Shaun Alexander Freshman of the Year Award has been presented to the College Freshman Player of the Year since 2018 and is named in honor of Shaun Alexander, a former standout at the University of Alabama and with the Seattle Seahawks in the NFL. Past winners include; Trevor Lawrence (Clemson) – 2018, Kenneth Gainwell (Memphis)-2019 and Will Anderson Jr. (Alabama) – 2020, Brock Bowers (Georgia) – 2021 and Drake Maye (North Carolina) 2022.

The Shaun Alexander Freshman of the Year Award watch list will incorporate a broad spectrum of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) programs and conferences from coast to coast, with 37 candidates recognized. Texas leads the way with 4 candidates followed by Alabama and Oklahoma with 3 players each. Five other schools boast 2 candidates.

S Caleb Downs, Alabama
RB Justice Haynes, Alabama
OT Kadyn Proctor, Alabama
QB Jaden Rashada, Arizona State
TE Luke Hasz, Arkansas
DE Keldric Faulk, Auburn
DT Peter Woods, Clemson
CB Cormani McClain, Colorado
WR Eugene Wilson, Florida
OT Earnest Greene, Georgia
ED Damon Wilson, Georgia
QB JJ Kohl, Iowa State
DB Javien Toviano, LSU
DE Rueben Bain, Miami
OL Francis Mauigoa, Miami
WR Kevin Concepcion, NC State
ED Princewill Umanmielen, Nebraska
WR Jaden Greathouse, Notre Dame
WR Carnell Tate, Ohio State
ED Adepoju Adebawore, Oklahoma
DB Peyton Bowen, Oklahoma
DB Jasiah Wagoner, Oklahoma
LB Suntarine Perkins, Ole Miss
WR Ayden Williams, Ole Miss
LB Tony Rojas, Penn State
ATH Nyckoles Harbor, South Carolina
LB Grayson Howard, South Carolina
DL Markis Deal, TCU
LB Arion Carter, Tennessee
RB Cedric Baxter, Texas
WR Johntay Cook, Texas
CB Malik Muhammad, Texas
LB Anthony Hill, Texas
RB Rueben Owens, Texas A&M
QB Dante Moore, UCLA
WR Zachariah Branch, USC
LB Tackett Curtis, USC

ABOUT THE MAXWELL FOOTBALL CLUB – The Maxwell Football Club was founded in 1935 and is the oldest football organization of its kind in America. The Club recognizes excellence in performance at the high school, collegiate and professional levels of the game. The Maxwell Club is also deeply involved and fully vested in the community through programs to promote academic excellence, community volunteerism, and leadership. High school student-athletes around the country have an opportunity to participate in MFC Showcase events, free of charge, through the generosity of our corporate partners. To learn more about our story visit

ABOUT THE SHAUN ALEXANDER FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR AWARD – The Shaun Alexander Freshman Player of the Year Award is an honor given each year to the most outstanding freshman player in college football. Named after Shaun Alexander since 2018, this award recognizes the exceptional performance and impact made by these players on their respective teams throughout the season. The winning formula evaluates players based on Talent, Character, Ambassador and Legend.

Questions concerning the 2023 Shaun Alexander Award watch list can be directed to MFC Executive Director Mark Wolpert or MFC Director of College Awards Rich Cirminiello