Search Shop
Apr 19, 2019

Women’s Soccer Celebrates 2018 Season, Announces Award Winners

CLEMSON, S.C. – The Clemson women’s soccer program held its annual awards banquet on Saturday, April 13 at the Reeves Recruiting Room at Memorial Stadium following the final spring match of the year against Georgia State at Historic Riggs Field. It was a festive atmosphere, as the Tigers had many individual athletic and academic accomplishments to celebrate.

Senior defender Sam Staab was named the Most Valuable Player. Staab started 18 matches this season, missing three matches as she was the only collegiate player called up to the U.S. U-23 Women’s National Soccer Team for the 2018 Nordic Tournament. The San Diego native led the Tigers in assists this season with 11 while playing a key role in the backline as they held opponents to a 0.90 goals allowed average.

Staab ended her career as a Tiger in record setting fashion as she became the first Tiger to earn ACC Defensive Player of the Year, becoming the highest selected player to be drafted as she was selected fourth overall by the Washington Spirit, and becoming only the second player in program history to earn Scholar All-American honors and All-America honors in the same season.

Senior forward Miranda Weslake and sophomore forward Mariana Speckmaier shared the Offensive Player of the Year Award for 2018. Speckmaier started in 19 of 20 matches during her second season, playing 1,548 minutes on the Clemson attack. She lead the team in scoring with 10 goals, and in points (22). Weslake finished her Clemson career in style as she was second on the team offensively, netting nine goals while assisting on three for a total of 19 points.

Junior goalkeeper Sandy MacIver and Staab were Co-Defensive Players of the Year. MacIver missed the first four matches of the season as she was in France, where she represented England’s Women’s National Team and earned a bronze medal at the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup. The Winsford, England native played 1,549 minutes in goal in 17 contests for the Tigers. She ended the season with 52 saves and a .787 save percentage, while allowing just 15 goals for a 0.87 goals against average. She also had eight solo shutouts this season, giving her a career total of 13.

Renee Guion earned the Tiger Newcomer Award. Guion is the only freshman to have played in all 21 matches this season. Ellen Colborn earned the Ratchford Coach’s Achievement Award for the second year in a row by showing her consistency in doing the little things that help the team succeed on and off the field.

The Bill D’Andrea Tiger PAW Award celebrated Haley Scheuppert’s contributions leading the teams community service involvement this season. The Iron Women Award recognizes the outstanding commitment and mentality in physical preparation and development in the area of strength and conditioning, this year our strength and conditioning coach Jessica Prencipe awarded it to Sarah Osborne.



United Soccer Coaches Scholar All-American
Sam Staab – 2nd Team

All-ACC Academic Team
Sandy MacIver
Julie Mackin
Sam Staab
Miranda Weslake

Weaver-James-Corrigan Postgraduate Scholarship Award
Miranda Weslake

CoSIDA Academic All-District Award Winner
Julie Mackin

United Soccer Coaches Scholar All-Region Award Winner
Sam Staab

United Soccer Coaches Team Academic Award

United Soccer Coaches All-America Honor
Sam Staab – 3rd Team

All-ACC Honors
Sam Staab – 1st Team
Mariana Speckmaier – 2nd Team
Miranda Weslake – 3rd Team
Sandy MacIver – 3rd Team

TEAM Most Valuable Player
Sam Staab

Deliah Arrington Offensive MVP
Mariana Speckmaier
Miranda Weslake

Defensive MVP
Sam Staab

Tiger Newcomer Award
Renee Guion

Ratchford Coach’s Achievement Award
Ellen Colborn

Bill D’Andrea Tiger PAW Award
Haley Schueppert

Iron Women Award
Sarah Osborne