Search Shop
Whitehurst Wins Banks McFadden Award

Whitehurst Wins Banks McFadden Award

Feb. 17, 2004

Clemson quarterback Charlie Whitehurst has been named the recipient of the 2003 Banks McFadden Award. The honor is given to the top college football player in South Carolina by the Greenville Touchdown Club. Whitehurst will be honored along with many high school award winners at the club’s annual awards banquet March 1 at the Embassy Suites in Greenville.

This is the sixth time a Clemson player has won the award, which dates to the 1993 season. The award is named after former Clemson All-American Banks McFadden, who was led Clemson to a 9-1 record and a Cotton Bowl victory over Boston College in 1939. Also an All-American in basketball at Clemson, McFadden is considered Clemson’s finest athlete of the 20th Century.

Whitehurst led Clemson to a 9-4 record on the gridiron in 2003. He completed 288-465 passes for 3561 yards and 21 touchdowns. He established 29 Clemson records during the season, including most yards passing and most completions in a season.

He was especially effective at the end of the season when he led Clemson to consecutive victories over Florida State, Duke, South Carolina and Tennessee. Florida State and Tennessee were both ranked in the top six in the nation at the time of those Clemson victories. He threw for 302 yards and four touchdowns in three quarters in Clemson’s win over South Carolina.

Tickets for the banquet are $25 for club members and $30 for non-members. For further information call (864) 292-3366.

Clemson’s Banks McFadden Award Winners

1993 Terry Smith WR
1996 Anthony Simmons LB
1997 Anthony Simmons LB
1999 Keith Adams LB
2001 Woodrow Dantzler QB
2003 Charlie Whitehurst QB