Search Shop
Trotter Placed on Walter Camp Player of the Year Watch List

Trotter Placed on Walter Camp Player of the Year Watch List

The Walter Camp Football Foundation announced today that linebacker Jeremiah Trotter Jr. has been named as one of 45 members — and one of only seven defensive players — on the 2023 watch list for Walter Camp Player of the Year.

Additional information from award organizers is included below. Visit the 2023 Preseason Honors hub for more preseason accolades garnered by Clemson.

The Walter Camp Football Foundation has announced the names of forty-five “players to watch” for its 2023 Player of the Year award, the nation’s fourth-oldest individual college football accolade.

USC quarterback Caleb Williams was the 2022 Walter Camp Player of Year. Williams headlines the 2023 watch list, which includes 38 offensive players (20 quarterbacks, 11 running backs, five receivers/tight ends and two offensive lineman) along with seven from the defensive side of the ball.

Players from 35 different schools representing 11 conferences (including independents) are represented on the preseason watch list. Ohio State has four players on the watch list, while seven schools (Florida State, LSU, Michigan, Notre Dame, Penn State, Texas and Washington) each have two.

“We are proud to continue the great work of Walter Camp and recognize the best college football players in the nation,” Foundation president Tony Mortali said. “This watch list is a great start to what is shaping up to be another exciting year of college football.”

The 2022 watch list will be narrowed to 10 semi-finalists in mid-November. The 2023 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, which is voted on by the 133 NCAA Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced on ESPN’s College Football Awards Show in December. The winner will then receive his trophy at the Foundation’s 57th annual national awards banquet in New Haven, Conn. in early 2023.

Please note: Appearing on the preseason Watch List is not a requirement for a player to win the Walter Camp award or be named to the All-America team.

2023 Walter Camp Player of Year Preseason Players to Watch

Braelon Allen, RB, Wisconsin
Joe Alt, OL, Notre Dame
Brock Bowers, TE, Georgia
Chevan Cordiero, QB, San Jose State
Dontay Corleone, DL, Cincinnati
Blake Corum, RB, Michigan
Jalon Daniels, QB, Kansas
Jayden Daniels, QB, LSU
Marquez Cooper, RB, Eastern Michigan
Emeka Egbuka, WR, Ohio State
Tommy Eichenberg, LB, Ohio State
Quinn Ewers, QB, Texas
Olu Fashanu, OL, Penn State
Dillon Gabriel, QB, Oklahoma
Frank Gore, Jr., RB, Southern Miss
Taylen Green, QB, Boise State
Frank Harris, QB, UTSA
Marvin Harrison, Jr., WR, Ohio State
Sam Hartman, QB, Notre Dame
TreVeyon Henderson, RB, Ohio State
Bucky Irving, RB, Oregon
Quinshon Judkins, RB, Ole Miss
Jaylin Lucas, RB/KR, Indiana
Drake Maye, QB, North Carolina
Grayson McCall, QB, Coastal Carolina
J.J. McCarthy, QB, Michigan
Kool-Aid McKinstry, DB, Alabama
Joe Milton, QB, Tennessee
Jer’Zhan Newton, DL, Illinois
Bo Nix, QB, Oregon
Rome Odunze, WR, Washington
Jaydn Ott, RB, California
Michael Pennix, Jr., QB, Washington
Harold Perkins, LB, LSU
Michael Pratt, QB, Tulane
Will Rogers, QB, Mississippi State
Austin Reed, QB, Western Kentucky
Kurtis Rourke, QB, Ohio
Raheim Sanders, RB, Arkansas
Nicholas Singleton, RB, Penn State
Jordan Travis, QB, Florida State
Jeremiah Trotter Jr., LB, Clemson
Jared Verse, DE, Florida State
Caleb Williams, QB, USC
Xavier Worthy, WR, Texas

Walter Camp, “The Father of American football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation – a New Haven-based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.

The Walter Camp Football Foundation is a member of the National College Football Awards Association. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA includes college football’s most prestigious awards and its 24 awards have honored more than 900 recipients dating back to 1935. This season, 12 NCFAA awards will honor national players of the week each Tuesday. Sixteen NCFAA members are unveiling preseason watch lists over a two-week period as the association spearheads a coordinated effort to promote each award’s preseason candidates. For more information about the NCFAA and its award programs, visit the redesigned or follow on Twitter at @NCFAA.