Search Shop
Tigers Win 15th ACC Title

Tigers Win 15th ACC Title

DURHAM, N.C. – The No. 15 Clemson Tigers scored 18 runs in the first four innings and held on for an 18-13 victory over No. 11 Florida State to win the ACC Championship at Durham Bulls Athletic Park on Sunday. The Tigers, who won their ninth game in a row and finished 4-0 in the ACC Tournament, improved to 42-18 on the season. It was also Clemson’s 15th ACC championship, 10th ACC Tournament title and first since 2006. The Seminoles dropped to 37-20 and ended 3-1 in the ACC Tourney.

Clemson jumped out to an early lead with three runs in the first inning thanks to Chris Okey’s run-scoring double. The Tigers scored five runs in the second inning, capped by Reed Rohlman’s two-run single. In the third inning, Clemson added five runs, led by Chase Pinder’s three-run triple. An inning later, the Tigers scored five runs, keyed by two-run doubles by Chris Williams and Okey. Florida State scored four runs in the bottom of the fourth inning and eight runs in the eighth inning, but fell short.

Tiger reliever Alex Bostic (4-2) earned the win by tossing 4.0 innings, allowing one hit, no runs and three walks with eight strikeouts. Ed Voyles (1-2) suffered the loss, as he gave up one hit, six runs (one earned) and two walks with two strikeouts in 1.0 innings pitched in a game that had three weather delays lasting a combined four hours and 48 minutes.

The announcement of the 16 NCAA regional host sites is Sunday at 8:30 p.m. The NCAA Selection Show is Monday at noon on ESPNU.

[View the story “Clemson vs. FSU (May 29, 2016)” on Storify]