Search Shop

Three Former Clemson Men’s Swimmers Named To ACC 50th Anniversary Team

Aug. 20, 2002

CLEMSON, SC – Three former Clemson men’s swimmers were named to the 50th Anniversary All-ACC team as announced by the league’s commissioner John Swofford on Tuesday. Rick Aronberg, Neil Brophy and Coy Cobb were all named All-Americans during their careers, and collectively won 15 ACC titles while at Clemson.

Rick Aronberg was a four-time All-American, a four-time All-ACC selection and a four-time ACC Champion in the 1650 freestyle from 1986-1989. Aronberg was also a two-time ACC Champion in the 500 free. He holds Clemson records in the 500, 1000 and 1650 free events. He was an Olympic Trail Qualifier in the 200, 400, 800 and 1500m freestyle. At the 1985 Maccabiah Games, Aronberg won five gold medals and one bronze medal. At the 1989 Maccabiah Games, he won five gold medals and one silver medal, where he surpassed Mark Spitz as the all-time medal winner at the Maccabiah Games.

Neil Brophy was named an All-American in the 800 free during the 1982 season. He was the 1982 ACC Champion in both the 500 and 1650 freestyle. In 1983, Brophy was a three-time ACC Champion, winning the 200, 500 and 1650 free. He holds times in Clemson’s all-time top 10 list in the 500, 1000 and 1650 freestyle events.

Coy Cobb was a five-time All-American at Clemson. He was the ACC Champion in four events, the 100 and 200 back, the 100 fly and the 400 medley relay, in 1985. Cobb holds the Clemson record in the 100 back and holds the Clemson pool records in the 100 and 200 back, the 100 fly and the 400 medley relay. He was an Olympic Trial Qualifier in the 100 and 200 backstroke events.