Search Shop
Solomon Named Second-Team All-ACC

Solomon Named Second-Team All-ACC

March 6, 2001

Clemson, SC – Clemson guard Will Solomon has been named second-team All-ACC by the Atlantic Coast Sportswriters Association, the official ACC all-conference team. It is the second straight year that Solomon, a junior, has been named first or second-team All-ACC.

Solomon, named first-team All-ACC as a sophomore, is just the fourth player in Clemson history to make first or second-team All-ACC as a sophomore and a junior. He is the first to do that since Tree Rollins was named second-team as a sophomore and junior in 1975-76 and 1976-77. Butch Zatezalo and Choppy Patterson are the other Tigers to do it.

Solomon received 150 points in the voting of 74 ACC media members. He missed making first team by just five total points. A first-team selection earns three points, a second-team two points and third-team vote earns one point. Solomon was bidding to become the first Clemson player in history to make first-team more than once.

The native of East Hartford, CT leads the Tigers and ranks third in the ACC in scoring with a 19.8 average. He is also ranked 11th in assists and is seventh in free throw shooting. He had a streak of 52 consecutive double figure scoring games at one point over two seasons, an all-time Clemson record.

He has averaged 19.7 points a game in 12 games against top 25 teams, including 26 in Clemson’s victory over #1 ranked North Carolina this year. He had four games of 30 points or more against top 25 teams this year. Solomon ranks 10th in Clemson history in scoring with 1395 points and is eighth on a points per game basis.

Named to the first-team were Shane Battier of Duke, Joseph Forte of North Carolina, Jason Williams of Duke, Juan Dixon of Maryland and Alvin Jones of Georgia Tech. In addition to Solomon, the second-team selections were Brendan Haywood of North Carolina, Lonny Baxter of Maryland, Josh Howard of Wake Forest and Travis Watson of Virginia.

2001 All-Atlantic Coast Conference

First Team

Shane Battier Sr. Duke (74) 222
Joseph Forte So. North Carolina (74) 222
Jason Williams So. Duke (74) 222
Juan Dixon Jr. Maryland (55) 195
Alvin Jones Sr. Georgia Tech (30) 155

Second Team

Will Solomon Jr. Clemson (19) 150
Brendan Haywood Sr. North Carolina (14) 134
Lonny Baxter Jr. Maryland (2) 114
Josh Howard So. Wake Forest (8) 105
Travis Watson So. Virginia (7) 102

Third Team

Chris Williams Jr. Virginia (4) 91
Roger Mason Jr. Virginia (3) 70
Terence Morris Sr. Maryland (3) 62
Jason Capel Jr. North Carolina (0) 57
Nate James Sr. Duke (0) 49

Honorable Mention (10 or more points)

Tony Akins Jr. Georgia Tech (0) 46
Donald Hand Sr. Virginia (1) 40
Darius Songailia Jr. WF (0) 34
Mike Dunleavy So. Duke (0) 34
Steve Blake So. Maryland (2) 30
Carlos Boozer So. Duke (0) 24
Anthony Grundy Jr. NC State (0) 14
Shaun Fein Sr. Georgia Tech (0) 11