Search Shop
Shipley Placed on Maxwell Award Watch List

Shipley Placed on Maxwell Award Watch List

The Maxwell Football Club announced today that running back Will Shipley has been named as one of 85 candidates on the watch list for the Maxwell Award, presented annually to the most outstanding player in college football. Additional information from the Maxwell Football Club is included below.

Visit the 2023 Preseason Honors hub for more preseason accolades garnered by Clemson.

The Maxwell Football Club today announced its watch list for the 87th Maxwell Award presented annually to the outstanding player in college football. The Maxwell Award has been presented to the College Player of the Year since 1937 and is named in honor of Robert “Tiny” Maxwell who was a former standout at Swarthmore College and a renowned sportswriter and football official.

The Maxwell Award watch list will once again incorporate a broad spectrum of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) programs and conferences from coast to coast, led by Caleb Williams (USC) who was the 2022 winner. Williams is joined by 7 additional returning semifinalists, Brock Bowers – Georgia, Drake Maye – North Carolina, Marvin Harrison Jr. – Ohio State, Bo Nix – Oregon, Cameron Rising – Utah, Michael Penix Jr. – Washington and Blake Corum – Michigan. The full list consists of 85 players with 16 schools having two players represented.

Williams joined O.J Simpson, Charles White and Marcus Allen, as the fourth Trojan player to be selected as the Maxwell Award winner.


WR Alex Adams, Akron
RB Jase McClellan, Alabama
RB Nate Noel, Appalachian State
QB Jayden de Laura, Arizona
WR Jacob Cowing, Arizona
QB KJ Jefferson, Arkansas
RB Raheim Sanders, Arkansas
RB Marquez Cooper, Ball State
RB Richard Reese, Baylor
QB Taylen Green, Boise State
RB George Holani, Boise State
QB Kedon Slovis, BYU
RB Aidan Robbins, BYU
RB Jaydn Ott, Cal
RB Will Shipley, Clemson
QB Grayson McCall, Coastal Carolina
QB Shedeur Sanders, Colorado
WR Tory Horton, Colorado State
QB Riley Leonard, Duke
RB Samson Evans, Eastern Michigan
WR Ricky Pearsall, Florida
RB Larry McCammon, Florida Atlantic
QB Jordan Travis, Florida State
RB Trey Benson, Florida State
TE Brock Bowers, Georgia
RB Jalen White, Georgia Southern
QB Darren Grainger, Georgia State
WR Matthew Golden, Houston
WR Isaiah Williams, Illinois
QB Cade McNamara, Iowa
RB Devin Neal, Kansas
QB Jalon Daniels, Kansas
QB Will Howard, Kansas State
QB Devin Leary, Kentucky
QB Jack Plummer, Louisville
QB Jayden Daniels, LSU
WR Malik Nabers, LSU
QB Taulia Tagovailoa, Maryland
QB Seth Henigan, Memphis
QB J.J. McCarthy, Michigan
RB Blake Corum, Michigan
QB Will Rogers, Mississippi State
QB Diego Pavia, New Mexico State
QB Drake Maye, North Carolina
QB Sam Hartman, Notre Dame
QB Kurtis Rourke, Ohio
WR Marvin Harrison Jr., Ohio State
WR Emeka Egbuka, Ohio State
QB Dillon Gabriel, Oklahoma
RB Quinshon Judkins, Ole Miss
QB Bo Nix, Oregon
RB Damien Martinez, Oregon State
RB Nicholas Singleton, Penn State
QB Phil Jurkovec, Pitt
QB Hudson Card, Purdue
QB Chevan Cordeiro, San Jose State
QB Carter Bradley, South Alabama
RB La’Damian Webb, South Alabama
QB Spencer Rattler, South Carolina
WR Antwane Wells, South Carolina
RB Frank Gore, Jr., Southern Miss
QB Garrett Shrader, Syracuse
TE Oronde Gadsden, Syracuse
QB Chandler Morris, TCU
QB E.J. Warner, Temple
QB Joe Milton, Tennessee
QB Quinn Ewers, Texas
WR Xavier Worthy, Texas
QB Tyler Shough, Texas Tech
QB Dequan Finn, Toledo
QB Michael Pratt, Tulane
RB Jermaine Brown, UAB
QB John Rhys Plumlee, UCF
QB Caleb Williams, USC
QB Cameron Rising, Utah
QB Frank Harris, UTSA
WR Will Sheppard, Vanderbilt
WR Donavon Greene, Wake Forest
WR Rome Odunze, Washington
QB Michael Penix Jr., Washington
QB Cameron Ward, Washington State
QB Austin Reed, Western Kentucky
WR Malachi Corley, Western Kentucky
QB Tanner Mordecai, Wisconsin
RB Braelon Allen, Wisconsin

The Maxwell Football Club has once again partnered with Pro Football Focus (PFF) and Phil Steele Publications as selection committee partners. PFF provides detailed metrics and performance-based assessments to selection committee staff, with several senior PFF analysts are members of our selection committee. Phil Steele’s College Football Preview is generally recognized as the most complete preseason magazine.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell Award will be announced November 13, 2023, while the three finalists for the Maxwell Award will be unveiled November 28, 2023. The winners of the 87th Maxwell Award will be announced as part of the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show held on December 7, 2023. The formal presentations of the Maxwell Award will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards in March 2024.

Questions concerning the 2023 Maxwell & Bednarik Award watch list can be directed to MFC Executive Director Mark Wolpert or MFC Vice President of College Awards Rich Cirminiello

ABOUT THE MAXWELL FOOTBALL CLUB – The Maxwell Football Club was founded in 1935 and is the oldest football organization of its kind in America. The Club recognizes excellence in performance at the high school, collegiate and professional levels of the game. The Maxwell Club is also deeply involved and fully vested in the community through programs to promote academic excellence, community volunteerism, and leadership. High school student-athletes around the country have an opportunity to participate in MFC Showcase events, free of charge, through the generosity of our corporate partners, Ivy Rehab, SAFR, the ETC Foundation and the Run Around Inc. To learn more about our story visit

ABOUT PRO FOOTBALL FOCUS – PFF is widely recognized as the industry leader in the advanced data collection and analysis for American football. Since 2011, PFF has led football’s charge into the world of analytics. Their services are trusted by all 32 NFL teams and over 100 FBS programs. Major broadcast networks, national media outlets and player agencies all use PFF as a resource as well. PFF’s media network provides fans with apps, tools, podcasts and other content to help satisfy their thirst for deeper insights in the game.

The Maxwell Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses college football’s most prestigious awards. The NCFAA’s 24 awards have honored more than 900 recipients since 1935. This season, 12 NCFAA awards will honor national players of the week each Tuesday.

Sixteen NCFAA members are unveiling preseason watch lists over a two-week period as the association spearheads a coordinated effort to promote each award’s preseason candidates. Following is the remaining 2023 preseason watch list calendar:

Mon., July 31: Maxwell Award
Tue., Aug. 1: Outland Trophy/Bronko Nagurski Trophy
Wed., Aug. 2: Lou Groza Award/Ray Guy Award
Thu., Aug. 3: Paul Hornung Award/Wuerffel Trophy
Fri., Aug. 4: Mackey Award/Rimington Trophy

Mon., Aug. 7: Biletnikoff Award
Tue., Aug. 8: Davey O’Brien Award
Wed., Aug. 9: Doak Walker Award
Thu., Aug. 10: Butkus Award/Paycom Jim Thorpe Award
Fri., Aug. 11: Walter Camp Award

Mon., Aug. 14: Bednarik Award

For more information about the NCFAA and its college football awards, visit the redesigned or follow on Twitter @NCFAA.