Search Shop
Nov 29, 2021

Ross Earns ACC Brian Piccolo Award

The Atlantic Coast Conference announced today that Clemson wide receiver Justyn Ross has been named as one of two recipients of the Brian Piccolo Award, given annually to the conference’s most courageous player(s). Ross is Clemson’s fifth all-time winner of the award and becomes Clemson’s first recipient since defensive tackle Warren Forney in 1995.

A full press release with additional information from the ACC is included below.

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – Florida State senior quarterback McKenzie Milton and Clemson junior wide receiver Jusytn Ross have been named joint recipients of the Atlantic Coast Conference’s 2021 Brian Piccolo Award, the league announced on Monday.

The Piccolo Award has been given annually since 1970 in memory of the late Brian Piccolo to the “most courageous” football player in the ACC. As a standout running back at Wake Forest, Piccolo was the ACC Athlete of the Year in 1965 and played for the Chicago Bears before his career was cut short when he was diagnosed with cancer. His courageous fight against the disease was an inspiration to the Bears and the entire football community.

Milton, who hails from Kapolei, Hawai’i, joined Florida State this season as a graduate transfer from UCF, where he suffered a catastrophic knee injury in the 2018 regular-season finale. A two-time Heisman Trophy candidate, Milton suffered artery and nerve damage to his leg, a dislocated knee and multiple torn ligaments and tendons. He nearly had his right leg amputated after the helmet-to-knee hit caused a lack of blood flow to his leg.

Doctors removed a vein from his left leg to help create a new artery for his right leg to restore blood flow and successfully save this leg. The main goal from the surgeons who operated on him was for him to hopefully one day walk without a limp and without pain. After eight surgical procedures, he persevered through more than 1,000 days of rehabilitation, and in December 2020, transferred to Florida State.

Milton appeared in six games for the Seminoles this season, completing 81 of 139 passes (58.3%) for 775 yards and three touchdowns.

“I am incredibly happy for McKenzie to be recognized with the Piccolo Award,” said Florida State head coach Mike Norvell. “He has displayed a tremendous amount of resilience, drive and competitive spirit throughout his long process of returning to play football. McKenzie made an unbelievable investment to reach his goal even when the odds were firmly against him.

“He is a great teammate, and his character and leadership have made a profound impact on our program. We are so proud McKenzie is part of our Seminole Family.”

Clemson’s Ross caught 112 passes for nearly 1,900 yards and 17 touchdowns in his first two collegiate seasons, but he was diagnosed in March 2020 with a congenital fusion condition of his neck and spine, plus a disc protrusion that ultimately required surgery. The Phenix City, Alabama, native missed the entire 2020 season and began rehab amidst doubts he would ever play football again.

Ross battled his way back to again become an integral part of the Tigers’ offensive attack this season. Despite a foot injury that sidelined him for the final two regular-season games, Ross leads the team with 46 receptions for 514 yards and three touchdowns and regained his status as a probable early-round NFL Draft pick.

“Justyn Ross is the epitome of the Brian Piccolo Award,” said Clemson head coach Dabo Swinney. “This is a great, great player who went from being told he was never going to play football again, to maybe there is a 50 percent chance and facing a 17-19 month grueling process. To see him come back and play 10 games and do the things that he did, I am so grateful.

“One of the worst days I’ve experienced as a coach was being there when the doctors told him what was going on and telling him that he may never play again. And one of the best days I’ve had as a coach was seeing him take the field again for the Tigers and seeing him get that first diving catch. I’m really proud of him and thankful that I had a chance to be part of his journey.”

Milton becomes the seventh Florida State student-athlete to be honored with the Brian Piccolo Award and the first since running back Chris Thompson in 2012. Ross becomes the fifth recipient from Clemson and the first since defensive tackle Warren Forney in 1995.

ACC Brian Piccolo Award Winners
1970: Paul Miller, QB, North Carolina
1971: Jim Webster, LB, North Carolina
1972: Mark Johnson, QB, Duke
1973: Al Neville, QB, Maryland
1974: David Visaggio, DG, Maryland
1975: Scott Gardner, QB, Virginia
1976: Jeff Green, DE, Duke
1977: Ralph Stringer, DB, NC State
1978: Rex Varn, DB, Clemson
1979: not available
1980: Jack Cain, DB, Clemson
1981: Aaron Stewart, DB, Duke
1982: Kenny Duckett, WR, Wake Forest
1983: John Piedmonte, OLB, Wake Forest
1984: J.D. Maarleveld, T, Maryland
1985: Danny Burmeister, DB, N. Carolina
1986: Ray Williams, WR, Clemson
1987: no recipient
1988: Jerry Mays, TB, Georgia Tech
1989: Michael Anderson, RB, Maryland
1990: Marc Mays, WR, Duke
1991: Scott Adell, T, NC State
1992: Dan Footman, DE, Florida State; Randy Cuthbert, TB, Duke
1993: Scott Youmans, DL, Duke
1994: Chris Harrison, T, Virginia
1995: Warren Forney, DT, Clemson
1996: John Lewis, RB, Wake Forest
1997: Sam Cowart, LB, Florida State
1998: Anthony Poindexter, DB, Virginia; Corey Simon, DT, Florida State
1999: Chris Weinke, QB, Florida State
2000: Ed Wilder, FB, Georgia Tech
2001: Matt Crawford, T, Maryland
2002: Anquan Boldin, WR, Florida State
2003: Kevin Bailey, OL, Virginia
2004: Frank Gore, RB, Miami
2005: Ryan Best, S, Virginia
2006: Glenn Sharpe, Miami
2007: Matt Robinson, DE, Wake Forest
2008: Robert Quinn, DE, North Carolina
2009: Toney Baker, RB, NC State
2010: Mark Herzlich, LB, Boston College; Nate Irving, LB, NC State
2011: Giovani Bernard, RB, North Carolina
2012: Shayon Green, DE, Miami; Chris Thompson, RB, Florida State
2013: Robert Godhigh, RB, Georgia Tech
2014: Duke Johnson, RB, Miami
2015: Hunter Knighton, OL, Miami
2016: James Conner, RB, Pitt
2017: Trevon Young, DE, Louisville
2018: Greg Dortch, WR/KR, Wake Forest
2019: Richard Yeargin, DE, Boston College
2020: Nolan Cooney, P, Syracuse
2021: Justyn Ross, WR, Clemson; McKenzie Milton, QB, Florida State