Search Shop
Apr 08, 2018

Men’s Soccer Celebrates 2017 Season, Announces Award Winners


CLEMSON, S.C. – The Clemson men’s soccer program held its annual awards banquet on Saturday, April 7 at the Burton Gallery Littlejohn Coliseum following an afternoon spring matchup with Duke at Historic Riggs Field. It was a festive atmosphere, as the Tigers had many individual athletic and academic accomplishments to celebrate.

Senior midfielder Oliver Shannon was named the Dalton Family Most Valuable Player. Shannon, also an All-ACC First Team selection, started all 19 games in 2017 as a co-captain.

Junior defender Patrick Bunk-Andersen was the Defensive Player of the Year for the second year in a row, and senior forward Diego Campos was the Offensive Player of the Year for 2017. Bunk-Andersen played in 18 games and scored three goals while also serving as the anchor of the Tigers’ back line. Campos scored a team-best 10 goals in 18 games in 2017, and he also led the team in assists with nine. Campos was named to the All-ACC First Team alongside Shannon.

Freshman midfielder Robbie Robinson earned Newcomer of the Year after scoring four goals in 16 games. Robinson was also named to the ACC All-Freshman Team. Fellow freshman midfielder Quinn McNeill received the Scout Team Player of the Year award, awarded to a player who showed unwavering commitment to preparing the team for upcoming matches throughout the year. McNeill also had the highest GPA of the freshman class, while Cale Thorne, Andrew Burnikel and Chris Heijjer achieved that mark for the sophomore, junior and senior classes, respectively.

Heijjer was additionally awarded the 12th Man/Solid Orange Award, and the Ratchford Coach’s Achievement Award was given to Michael Zierhoffer.

A full list of awards can be found below.


GPA Awards
Freshman – Quinn McNeill
Sophomore – Cale Thorne
Junior – Andrew Burnikel
Senior – Chris Heijjer

All-ACC Academic Team
Oliver Shannon
Patrick Bunk-Andersen
Ximo Miralles

CoSIDA Academic All-District Award Winners
Grayson Raynor
Andrew Burnikel

United Soccer Coaches Team Academic Award

All-ACC Honors
Diego Campos – First Team
Oliver Shannon – First Team
Robbie Robinson – All-Freshman

ACC All-Tournament Team
Diego Campos
Justin Malou

United Soccer Coaches All-Region Honors
Diego Campos – First Team
Oliver Shannon – Third Team
Patrick Bunk-Andersen – Third Team

Newcomer of the Year – Robbie Robinson

Scout Team Player of the Year – Quinn McNeill
A player that was committed to preparing the team for upcoming matches on a daily basis, pushed the starting eleven in training and was always ready when called upon.

Ratchford Coach’s Achievement Award
- Michael Zierhoffer
A player whom the coaches feel went above and beyond what was asked in order to unite the team throughout the season.

12th Man/Solid Orange Award – Chris Heijjer
An individual on the team who pursued excellence on and off the field by representing the men’s soccer program in a positive manner.

Service Award – Jacob Addison

Defensive Player of the Year – Patrick Bunk-Andersen

Offensive Player of the Year ­– Diego Campos

Dalton Family MVP – Oliver Shannon

I.M. Ibrahim Award – Mike Potempa
This award shall be given annually to an alumnus who has made a significant contribution to Clemson Men’s Soccer that reflects the passion and values that Coach Ibrahim left during his career as a coach, educator, entrepreneur and champion. The award recipient will be an ambassador for the year for Clemson and the men’s soccer program in memory of Coach Ibrahim.