Search Shop
Nov 28, 2022

McFadden Earns ACC’s Jacobs Blocking Trophy

The Atlantic Coast Conference announced today that offensive tackle Jordan McFadden has been named the recipient of the Jacobs Blocking Trophy, given annually the conference’s most outstanding blocker as determined by the league’s head coaches and defensive coordinators.

McFadden’s selection marks the 10th time since the league’s inception in 1953 that a Clemson player has earned the honor. McFadden joins fullback Doug Cline (1959), tackle Wayne Mass (1966), guard Harry Olszewski (1967), guard Joe Bostic (1977), tackle Lee Nanney (1981) and guard James Farr (1983), guard John Phillips (1987) and tackle Mitch Hyatt (2017 and 2018) as Clemson’s all-time honorees.

More information from the ACC is included below.

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – Clemson offensive tackle Jordan McFadden has been voted the winner of the 2022 Jacobs Blocking Trophy, the Atlantic Coast Conference announced on Monday.

The Jacobs Blocking Trophy has been awarded annually since 1953 to the player selected most outstanding blocker in the ACC by a poll of the league’s head coaches and defensive coordinators. The trophy is given in memory of William P. Jacobs, who served as president of Presbyterian College from 1935 to 1945.

McFadden, a 6-2, 305-pound graduate from Spartanburg, South Carolina, heads into Saturday night’s Subway ACC Football Championship Game having played more than 2,800 career snaps in 54 college games. He has started every game this season while leading the Tigers to a 10-2 overall record and an unbeaten mark in ACC play.

With McFadden paving the way, Clemson boasts one of three ACC 1,000-yard rushers (Will Shipley) and has amassed close to 5,000 yards in total offense. McFadden was voted the ACC Offensive Lineman of the Week twice during the 2022 season.

“Jordan is so deserving,” Clemson coach Dabo Swinney said. “He has obviously been our best player and most consistent player for the last couple of years. He is a guy that football is very important to. His craft is very important to him. He’s become an incredibly disciplined and technically savvy offensive lineman. He’s one of the strongest kids we’ve got, and he is a complete player in every aspect.

“I’m very thankful that he’s getting this recognition because he has worked his tail off to become a great offensive lineman. And it’s not just what he’s done on the field; off the field as well, he embodies everything about this award.”

This marks the 10th time that a Clemson player has claimed the Jacobs Blocking Trophy and the first since Mitch Hyatt claimed the award in both 2017 and 2018.

Winners of the ACC Jacobs Blocking Trophy
1953: Bill Wohrman, FB, South Carolina
1954: Bill Wohrman, FB, South Carolina
1955: Bob Pellegrini, C, Maryland
1956: Hal McElhaney, FB, Duke
1957: Hal McElhaney, FB, Duke
1958: John Saunders, FB, South Carolina
1959: Doug Cline, FB, Clemson
1960: Dwight Bumgarner, T, Duke
1961: Art Gregory, T, Duke; Jim LeCompte, G, North Carolina
1962: Art Gregory, T, Duke
1963: Chuck Walker, T, Duke
1964: Eddie Kesler, FB, North Carolina
1965: John McNabb, G, Duke
1966: Wayne Mass, T, Clemson
1967: Harry Olszewski, G, Clemson
1968: Greg Shelly, T, Virginia
1969: Ralph Sonntag, T, Maryland
1970: Dan Ryczek, C, Virginia
1971: Geoff Hamlin, FB, North Carolina
1972: Ron Rusnak, G, North Carolina
1973: Bill Yoest, G, NC State
1974: Ken Huff, G, North Carolina
1975: Billy Bryan, C, Duke
1976: Billy Bryan, C, Duke
1977: Joe Bostic, G, Clemson
1978: Jim Ritcher, C, NC State
1979: Jim Ritcher, C, NC State
1980: Ron Wooten, G, North Carolina
1981: Lee Nanney, T, Clemson
1982: Dave Pacella, T, Maryland
1983: James Farr, G, Clemson
1984: Jim Dombrowski, T, Virginia
1985: Jim Dombrowski, T, Virginia
1986: Paul Kiser, G, Wake Forest
1987: John Phillips, G, Clemson
1988: Jeff Garnica, C, North Carolina
1989: Chris Port, T, Duke
1990: Ray Roberts, T, Virginia
1991: Ray Roberts, T, Virginia
1992: Ben Coleman, T, Wake Forest
1993: Mark Dixon, G, Virginia
1994: Clay Shiver, C, Florida State
1995: Clay Shiver, C, Florida State
1996: no recipient
1997: Tra Thomas, T, Florida State
1998: Craig Page, C, Georgia Tech
1999: John St. Clair, C, Virginia
2000: Tarlos Thomas, T, Florida State
2001: Brett Williams, T, Florida State
2002: Brett Williams, T, Florida State
2003: Elton Brown, G, Virginia
2004: Elton Brown, G, Virginia
2005: Eric Winston, T, Miami
2006: Josh Beekman, G-C, Boston College
2007: Steve Justice, C, Wake Forest
2008: Eugene Monroe, T, Virginia
2009: Rodney Hudson, G, Florida State
2010: Rodney Hudson, G, Florida State
2011: Blake DeChristopher, T, Virginia Tech
2012: Jonathan Cooper, G, North Carolina
2013: Cameron Erving, T, Florida State
2014: Cameron Erving, T-C, Florida State
2015: Roderick Johnson, T, Florida State
2016: Roderick Johnson, T, Florida State
2017: Mitch Hyatt, T, Clemson
2018: Mitch Hyatt, T, Clemson
2019: Mekhi Becton, T, Louisville
2020: Liam Eichenberg, T, Notre Dame
2021: Ikem Ekwonu, T, NC State
2022: Jordan McFadden, T, Clemson