Search Shop
Leroy Hill Named First-Team All-ACC

Leroy Hill Named First-Team All-ACC

Nov. 24, 2003

LeRoy Hill was named to the first-team, while Donnell Washington, Gregory Walker and Derrick Hamilton were second-team selections according to the Associated Press, ACSMA All-ACC team released Monday. Hamilton was named second-team at wide receiver and as a specialist.

Hill led the Tigers in tackles with 133 and in tackles for loss with 25 this season. His tackle for loss total led the ACC and ranked in the top three in the nation. He finished the season with 15 tackles and five tackles for loss in the Tigers 63-17 win over South Carolina last Saturday. Hill is a candidate for ACC Defensive Player of the Year, which will be announced next week. The native of Haddock, GA also had three interceptions and a fumble recovery. He led the Tigers in tackles in six of the 12 games this season.

Hamilton was named second team wide receiver and return specialist. The native of Dillon, SC had 10 touchdown receptions this year, an all-time Clemson single season record. He also led the team in receiving yards with 957 and had 57 total catches, a 16.8 average. He ranked eighth in the ACC in receptions per game and is fourth in reception yards per game. As a return specialist, Hamilton had a 35-yard average in kickoff returns and ranked seventh in punt return average.

Walker, a graduate student from Sumter, SC, was a second-team selection at guard this year. A starter in every game the last two years, he was a big reason Clemson ranks second in the ACC in total offense with a 422.2 average, second highest per game average in Clemson history. He had an 85 percent average grade for the year and was Clemson’s highest graded lineman in four games this past season.

Washington led Clemson’s defensive linemen with 55 tackles this season. He had eight in the win over Duke, the first time since 1997 that a defensive linemen led the Tigers in tackles in a game. He also had nine tackles for loss and 25 quarterback pressures to lead defensive line in both categories.

Charlie Whitehurst (QB), Justin Miller (CB) , Jamaal Fudge (ROV), John Leake (LB), Kevin Youngblood (WR) and Cedric Johnson (OT) were all honorable mention All-ACC selections.