Search Shop

Keith Adams Honored By Charlotte Touchdown Club

Nov. 24, 1999

CHARLOTTE, N.C. — Clemson inside linebacker KEITH ADAMS has been selected the Mike Fox/Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week by the Charlotte Touchdown Club for the week ending November 20.

Adams, a sophomore from Marietta, Ga., had an outstanding game in the Tigers’ 31-21 victory at South Carolina. Adams set Clemson’s all-time single game record with 27 tackles, including 18 first hits and nine assists. Adams’ heroics included four tackles for losses with three quarterback sacks. For his efforts, he was named the ACC’s Defensive Lineman of the Week for the fifth time this season.

For the season, Adams has 33 tackles for loss, an all-time ACC record, and 16 sacks, a Clemson single season record.

Finalists this week included: Fox/Nagurski Trophy Finalist Tyrone Carter, Minnesota, Joe Adam, Central Michigan, Kansas State’s Dyshod Carter, Chad Bayer, TCU, Marc Stockbauer, Stanford, Ty Trahan, Southern Miss, and Nate Webster, Miami.

Joining Adams as Fox/Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week’s this year are Zeke Moreno of Southern California, Brian Urlacher of New Mexico, Kevin Curtis of Texas Tech, Adalius Thomas of Southern Miss, Frank Chamberlin of Boston College, Ashley Cooper of Mississippi State, and David Bomar of North Carolina.

The Mike Fox/Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week award will be selected weekly by the Charlotte Touchdown Club up until the announcement of the 1999 Mike Fox/Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner on December 6 at an award’s gala in Charlotte, N.C. The Trophy is awarded annually to the nation’s top defensive player regardless of his position. Florida State head coach Bobby Bowden will be this year’s keynote speaker.

The past winners of the Bronko Nagurski Trophy are Rob Waldrop (Arizona, 1993), Warren Sapp (Miami, Fla., 1994), Pat Fitzgerald (Northwestern, 1995 & 1996), Charles Woodson (Michigan, 1997), and Champ Bailey (Georgia, 1998).