Search Shop
Dwayne Allen Named Consensus All-American

Dwayne Allen Named Consensus All-American

Dec. 22, 2011

CLEMSON, SC – Clemson tight end Dwayne Allen has been named a consensus All-American by the NCAA. Allen was a first-team selection by the Football Writers of America and the Associated Press and was the recipient of the John Mackey Award. Allen was the only tight end to make first-team on two of the five All-America teams recognized by the NCAA (AP, Football Writers, Football Coaches, Sporting News, Walter Camp Foundation).

This is the third consecutive year Clemson has had a consensus first-team All-American. C.J. Spiller was a unanimous All-American in 2009 and Da’Quan Bowers was unanimous in 2010.

Allen was the only offensive player from the ACC to be named a consensus first-team All-American. Luke Kuechly of Boston College (LB) and David Amerson of NC State (DB) were the only two ACC players named among defensive players. Florida State punter Shawn Powell was consensus as well.

Allen, a junior from Fayetteville, NC had 48 receptions for 577 yards and eight touchdowns this year, Clemson records for a tight end in all three categories. He had two touchdown catches against Virginia Tech in the ACC Championship game on December 3, helping the Tigers to a 38-10 victory. Allen and the Tigers will face West Virginia in the Discover Orange Bowl on January 4.

Consensus All-Americans QB – Robert Griffin III, Baylor RB – Trent Richardson, Alabama RB – Montee Ball, Wisconsin WR – Justin Blackmon, Oklahoma State WR – Ryan Broyles, OklahomaTE – Dwayne Allen, Clemson OL – Barrett Jones, Alabama OL – David DeCastro, Stanford OL – David Molk, Michigan OL – Nate Potter, Boise State OL – Levy Adcock, Oklahoma State

DL – Whitney Mercilus, Illinois DL – Jerel Worthy, Michigan State DL – Devon Still, Penn State DL – Melvin Ingram, South Carolina LB – Luke Kuechly, Boston College LB – Jarvis Jones, Georgia LB – Dont’a Hightower, Alabama DB – Mark Barron, Alabama DB – Morris Claiborne, LSU DB – Tyrann Mathieu, LSU DB – Markelle Martin, Oklahoma State DB – Dre Kirkpatrick, Alabama DB – David Amerson, North Carolina State

PK – Randy Bullock, Texas A&M P – Shawn Powell, Florida State AP – Joe Adams, Arkansas