Search Shop
Davis, Cameron and Mulligan to Serve as Honorary Captains

Davis, Cameron and Mulligan to Serve as Honorary Captains

Honorary Captains for South Carolina State

Representatives from three teams celebrating  reunions  will serve as honorary captains for the Tigers Saturday vs. South Carolina State.  Starting center Wayne Mulligan (1966), starting quarterback Dechane Cameron (1991) and All-ACC running back James Davis (2006) will be on hand for the coin toss.

Below is a rundown on their Clemson careers.

Wayne Mulligan, center 1966-68

•Mulligan was Clemson’s starting center from 1966-68, the only Clemson player to start at center for three consecutive years between 1965-85.

•Starting center on ACC Championship teams of 1966 and 1967, joins Jeff Bak as only Clemson center to start on multiple ACC Championship teams

•Drafted in the eighth round by the Cardinals in 1969, he played seven years in the NFL, five with the Cardinals and two with the Jets.  Joe Namath’s center for the 1974 and 1975 seasons.

•Played 87 games in the NFL over those seven years,  only Jeff Bostic played more among former Clemson centers.

Dechane Cameron QB, 1988-91

•Clemson starting quarterback in 1990 and 1991.  Led Clemson to a 10-win season in 1990 and ACC Championship in 1991.

•Had a 19-4-1 record as a starting QB, his 84 percent winning percentage is second to Deshaun Watson’s current 91 percent.

•Most Valuable Player of Clemson’s 1991 Hall of Fame Bowl win over Illinois.

•Also Clemson Offensive MVP of the 1992 Citrus Bowl

James Davis, RB, 2005-08

•ACC Rookie of the Year in 2005

•First-team All-ACC running back in 2006 and 2007.

•Finished his Clemson career ranked second in career rushing yards with 3881

•Clemson career leader in rushing touchdowns with 47.

•Will always be remembered for his career high 216 rushing yards against 13th ranked Georgia Tech the night Clemson played host to ESPN College Gameday for the first time in 2006.

•Most Valuable Player in Clemson’s Champs Sports Bowl win over Colorado in 2005 as a freshman.

•Drafted by the Cleveland Browns, he played three years in the NFL

Team Accomplishments

1966—Clemson’s 1966 team won the ACC Championship with  a 6-1 conference record.  The season included a 40-35 victory over Virginia when the Tigers overcame a 17 point deficit to win.  It is still the largest comeback in Clemson history in Death Valley.  Frank Howard’s Tigers clinched the ACC Championship with a 35-10 win over South Carolina in the season finale

1991—Clemson’s 1991 team won the ACC Championship with a 6-0-1 league record.  The Tigers finished 9-2-1 overall and were ranked 17th in the Final USA Today coaches poll.    The season included a 9-7 win over defending National Champion Georgia Tech and a 29-19 win over 12th ranked N.C State.  The Tigers defeated South Carolina in Columbia 41-24 before clinching the ACC championship with a 33-21 win over Duke in Tokyo, Japan

2006—The 2006 Tigers had two wins over teams ranked in the top 13 in the nation.  The first was a 27-20 victory over ninth ranked Florida State.  The second was a 31-7 win over 13th ranked Georgia Tech on the weekend ESPN College Gameday came to Clemson for the first time.  The 2006 Tigers reached a top 10 national ranking after that victory.