Search Shop
Dantzler to Receive McFadden Award

Dantzler to Receive McFadden Award

Feb. 8, 2002

Clemson, SC – Clemson quarterback Woodrow Dantzler has been named the recipient of the Banks McFadden Award, the honor given to the top college football player in South Carolina. The award is given each year by the Greenville Touchdown Club and it will be presented to Dantzler at the club’s year-end meeting.

The event will be held Feb. 18th at 7:00 PM at the Embassy Suites in Greenville. For tickets contact Joel Shaw at (864) 292-3366. Tickets are $25 for club members and $30 for guests.

The award is named in honor of former Clemson All-American Banks McFadden, the only athlete in the school’s history to have his number retired in football and basketball. On the gridiron McFadden led the Tigers to a 9-1 record in 1939 and a victory in the Cotton Bowl over Boston College. He was the number-four selection of the 1940 NFL draft, still the highest draft selection in history for a Clemson football player.

Dantzler set 53 school records on a game, season and career basis this past year. He finished his career as Clemson’s all-time leader in passing efficiency, total offense and touchdown responsibility. He is the ACC’s career leader in rushing yards by a quarterback.

Dantzler became the first player in college football history to pass for at least 2000 yards and rush for at least 1000 yards in the same season. The graduate from Orangeburg, SC was a first-team All-ACC selection, the first Clemson quarterback in 20 years to be so honored.

Dantzler is the fourth Clemson player to win this award since 1993. Terry Smith captured the McFadden Award in 1993,while Anthony Simmons won it in 1996 and 1997. Keith Adams won the honor as a sophomore in 1999.