Search Shop

Clemson to Induct Eight into Athletics Hall of Fame

May 4, 2010

CLEMSON, SC – Clemson will inducted eight new members into its Athletic Hall of Fame this fall. The class was announced on Tuesday by Charlie Bussey, executive director of the Clemson Tiger Lettermen’s Association. The class will be inducted September 3-4, the weekend of Clemson’s season opening football game with North Texas.

The class includes athletes in seven different sports who played for the Tigers over a 50-year time span. The class includes six athletes who were chosen to their respective ACC 50-Year Anniversary teams in 2002, an Olympic Gold medalist, one of the top players on the PGA Tour, and the winningest coach in Clemson history in terms of ACC Championships and ACC Coach of the Year Awards.

The class includes Henry Abadi, the first first-team All-American in Clemson men’s soccer history and Cindy Duarte, the first women’s track All-American in Clemson history in indoor track, outdoor track and cross country. Pender Murphy was a four-time All-American for Chuck Kriese’s Tiger tennis team who won a record 29 consecutive matches in 1980, still the school record.

The class also features 2004 Olympic Gold Medalist Shawn Crawford, current PGA Tour player D.J. Trahan won the Ben Hogan Award as the national player of the year in 2002, Harold Olsen, the #13 selection of the 1960 NFL draft, and Paulette Russell, a five-time All-American women’s swimmer.

The only coach inducted this year will be former Track Coach Bob Pollock, who passed way this past February after a fight against cancer. Pollock won 21 ACC Championships in his 20 years as head coach and was named ACC Coach of the Year 19 times.

Below is a more detailed rundown of each inductee:

Henry AbadiSoccer, 1972-73 • First-Team All-American in 1973, Clemson’s first first-team All-American in soccer • First-Team All-ACC in 1972 and 1973 • Set Clemson record for most goals in a season with 32 in 1973 • Led the nation in scoring with 32 goals in 1973 • Set record holder for most points in a season with 71 in 1973 • Finished his career with seven hat tricks, including record five in 1973

Shawn CrawfordMen’s Track, 1997-2000 • Olympic Gold medalist in 200 meters in 2004 • Three-time NCAA Champion in the 200 meters • Second Clemson track athlete to win three NCAA Track Championships • An 11-time All-American, most in Clemson track history • A Clemson record nine-time ACC Champion in individual events • 12-time All-ACC selection, third in Clemson history • Named to ACC 50-Year Anniversary Track Team

Cindy DuarteWomen’s Track, 1979-82 • Member of ACC 50-Year Anniversary cross country team • First Clemson women’s track athlete to earn All-America honors in indoor track, outdoor track and cross country • Participated in the AIAW Championships in the 3000 meters in 1981, the first Lady Tiger to compete in a national outdoor and indoor track meet for Clemson • All-American in cross country at Clemson in 1981 along with Kerry Robinson, the first women’s track All-Americans in Clemson history • Two-time All-Region performer in cross country in 1980 and 1981, she was first two-time All-District cross country performer in Clemson history

Pender MurphyTennis, 1978-81 • Four-Time All-American 1978-81 • Named to ACC 50-Year Anniversary Men’s Tennis Team • All-American in singles and doubles, 1980 and 1981 • Had Clemson record 29-match winning streak, record still stands 30 years later • 1980 ACC Champion, No. 3 singles • Ranked in top 10 in Clemson history in singles and doubles Wins

Harold OlsonFootball, 1957-59 • The number-13 selection of the 1960 draft by the Chicago Cardinals • Tenth highest draft selection in Clemson history • Named to the Clemson Centennial team for one platoon players • First-team All-ACC in 1959 • Honorable mention All-American by Associated Press in 1959 • Starter on two ACC Championship teams, 1958-59 • Two-time AFL Pro Bowl Selection, 1961-62

Bob PollockMen’s Track Coach, 1988-2008 • Won 21 ACC Championships in his 20 years as head coach, 11 in indoor track, nine in outdoor track and one cross country • 19-time ACC Coach of the Year, more than any other Clemson coach • 16-time NCAA Region Coach of the Year • Coached Clemson program to seven top 10 finishes in indoor track • National Coach of the Year for Indoor Track in 1992 • 13 of his Clemson athletes won NCAA Championships

Paulette RussellWomen’s Swimming, 1990-93 • Named to ACC 50-Year Anniversary Swim team • All-ACC four consecutive years, 1990-93 • Five-time All-American between 1990 and 1993 • ACC Champion in 500 free in 1991 • ACC Champion in 200 breast and 500 free in 1992 • ACC Champion in 500 free in 1993

D.J. TrahanGolf, 1999-03 • Won Ben Hogan Award as National Player of the Year in 2002 • Four-time All-American, first-team twice and honorable mention twice • Four-time first-team All-ACC, 2000-03 • Second-team Academic All-American in 2002 • Named to ACC 50-Year Anniversary Golf Team • Tied Clemson record for individual victories (5) • Led Clemson to the NCAA Championship in 2003