Search Shop
Clemson Swimming And Diving Award Winners Announced

Clemson Swimming And Diving Award Winners Announced

May 2, 2000

CLEMSON, S.C. – Head Coach Bruce Marchionda has announced Clemson men’s and women’s swimming and diving awards for the 1999-00 season. Clemson concluded its season with an 8-3 record in women’s swimming and a 7-2 dual meet record on the men’s side.

The most valuable swimmer on the men’s side was Will Rogers. He earned All-ACC honors in the 50 free this year. He also won the Weightroom Award among swimmers. The junior from West Columbia, SC was voted the most dedicated swimmer at Clemson for the 1997-98 season.

The women’s MVP was Ginny Kirouac, who earned honorable mention All-America honors at the NCAA championships with a 14th place finish in the 400 IM. The sophomore from Atlanta, GA, also won the award for the most impirational swim with her 400 IM performance at the ACCs and NCAAs. Kirouac was also a second-team Academic All-American this past year.

Clemson 1999-00 Swimming and Diving Awards

Men Most Valuable: Will Rogers Most Improved: Matt Norman Rookie of the Year: Craig Thomas Weightroom Award (Swimming): Will Rogers Dryland Award (Diving): Andy Garrett Tiger Award: Adam Tepe Coaches Award: Josh Williams Most Inspirational Swim or Dive: Mike Pridemore (400 free relay vs. S. Carolina)

Women Most Valuable: Ginny Kirouac Most Improved: Patty Hider Rookie of the Year: Jenna Burtch Weightroom Award (Swimming): Mandy Commons Dryland Award (Diving): Aly Susterka Tiger Award: Beverly Chin Coaches Award: Krystal Ball & Lauren Rafferty Most Inspirational Swim or Dive: Ginny Kirouac 400 IM at ACC, NCAA